Commercial Bathroom Sink Countertop Supports - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Commercial Bathroom Sink Countertop Supports

Old 05-28-2017, 07:10 PM   #1
improving homes

Trade: Roofing/Remodeling
Rewards Points: 348

Commercial Bathroom Sink Countertop Supports

Not really a plumbing or carpentry question per say. But has anyone built a frame of some sort for a commercial bathroom countertop? Or know of a place to order something? We are remodeling a restaurant and the bathrooms were just supposed to paint and new ceilings. Owner decided new stalls, then to tear out the tile on the walls, and on and on and on turned into a full gut. My plumber suggested just 100 dollar wall hung sinks, 2 in each bathroom and the owner agreed. But then after thinking about it more he wants something nicer. He doesn't want to spend the money for granite so he wants a standard laminate counter.

No problem with the countertop but I've never done an ADA support before. The commercial bathrooms I've done we always used wall hung sinks or stone countertops and the stone guys always take care of the support.

I've seen lots of laminate tops in commercial buildings and the supports range from welded metal to custom wood to "stock" wood supports. I've thought about making up a frame out of 2x4s and then a trim board on the front and then either get some heavy duty metal brackets or make up a wood support out of 3/4" ply.

Anyone make something like this before? Or have a source for where to get one?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 05-28-2017, 08:31 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Executor of special operations
Rewards Points: 1,898