Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

Combining an attic fan with a ridge vent

18K views 29 replies 13 participants last post by  GoodStuff 
#1 ·
I would like to add an attic fan onto a roof that already has a ridge vent. I know that the two will not work together well if you put the fan 2ft from the peak like you normally do.

Where is the best place on the roof to install this attic fan so it will do the job it's designed to do?

#4 ·
Customer has an attic area they would like to use for storage that is incredibly hot.
Useless and unnecessary if you have proper soffit to vent ratio
As an electrician, I often work in attics during the summer months. "Proper" venting may be enough, but it sure doesn't make it comfortable or habitable up there.

Getting this attic space cooler is my main concern. If somebody knows where the attic fan should be placed in relation with the ridge vents, I'd be very appreciative.

#5 ·
If its a gabled roof,I'd put a louvered fan in as close to
the peak as possible.
Since this is only for getting the attic cooler,which will extend
the life of the shingles and cut back on air conditioning,it won't need
to run during winter months when moisture laden heat migrates
into the attic and needs to be extracted.
Having a louvered fan will keep it as a separate system,not
interfering with the natural venting needed during the winter months.

#6 ·
Since this is only for getting the attic cooler,which will extend
the life of the shingles and cut back on air conditioning...
Personally I can not agree with either of these ideas unless very specific conditions are met and those conditions are almost never met in the average house.
If the interior of the house is not well and completely air sealed then the fans will tend to draw conditioned air from the interior of the house to the attic. That will tend to cool the attic alright at the extra expense of air conditioning.