Cold Weather Concrete Columns And Blankets - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Cold Weather Concrete Columns And Blankets

Old 12-31-2012, 09:15 PM   #1
Sticks & Stones

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 10

Cold Weather Concrete Columns And Blankets

I hope my ignorance on this matter is met with appreciation of the fact I need to do something I have never done before and am asking for help. I am a WV Commercial and Residential Contractor but have never had to pour concrete in 30 degrees before so since I have no sub to do this at this time I will be doing it myself with my small crew. We have 28 qty 9' x 16" sonotubes to pour and I realize we need a winter mix and all but my question is how and heck can I wrap these columns since they will have bracing on top and I can't cut the blankets to fit ( they will be rented.) also it will be dipping down to around 10 degrees at night so how long would I need to leave the blankets on before removal?

Thanks for your help in advance,

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 12-31-2012, 09:59 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: general contractor
Rewards Points: 85

Re: Cold Weather Concrete Columns And Blankets

I don't pour much these days but can say around here our plants won't fire up if the temps are below 32 degrees. I would think that if you couldn't wrap with the blankets then maybe wrap with batt insulation where needed. Just don't compress it to much

Advertisement

Old 12-31-2012, 10:05 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: custom builder
Rewards Points: 14

Maybe you need to tent them with plastic and add heat. Are they close enough together to tent them all together?
Advertisement