Cellar Vrs Basmenet Egress...failed Inspection - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Cellar Vrs Basmenet Egress...failed Inspection

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2008, 09:37 PM   #1
Registered User
 
RC LLC's Avatar
 
Trade: home builder
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Cellar Vrs Basmenet Egress...failed Inspection


Just finished a house in Montgomery county MD. House is 2.5 stories so the lowest level is almost completely below grade and unfinished. Montgomery county defines this as a cellar which I thought did not require egress to outside vrs basement which does. plans were approved by county 6 months ago clearly showing no egress just transon windows high up. Anybody know if it does. Montgomery county follows 2006 IRC. Sure would love not to have to cut a hole in a perfectly good wall for a space they have no intention of using except for storage, not to mention homeowner does not want it.
RC LLC is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 11-28-2008, 09:46 PM   #2
Professional Instigator
 
rbsremodeling's Avatar
 
Trade: Design Build Remodeling Contractor DC MD
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Washington, DC/ Maryland
Posts: 6,872
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Cellar Vrs Basmenet Egress...failed Inspection


Here you go.


http://permittingservices.montgomerycountymd.gov/permitting/pdf/BCHowToDetermineStories.pdf

Advertisement

__________________


Last edited by rbsremodeling; 11-28-2008 at 09:49 PM.
rbsremodeling is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 09:55 PM   #3
Registered User
 
RC LLC's Avatar
 
Trade: home builder
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Cellar Vrs Basmenet Egress...failed Inspection


It is a cellar.......... it is more then 50% below grade question is does a cellar unfinished need egress to daylight in addition to stairs up to interior of house per irc 2006?
RC LLC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-28-2008, 10:15 PM   #4
Pro
 
theman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: +up-state N.Y.
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Cellar Vrs Basmenet Egress...failed Inspection


RC You Don't Need a second means of egress unless you finish the basement, as you stated unfinish and used for storage how high is the ceiling.

al
theman is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 10:43 PM   #5
Registered User
 
RC LLC's Avatar
 
Trade: home builder
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Cellar Vrs Basmenet Egress...failed Inspection


clear
RC LLC is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 11:09 PM   #6
Pro
 
cleveman's Avatar
 
Trade: custom home building
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 2,836
Rewards Points: 2,624

Re: Cellar Vrs Basmenet Egress...failed Inspection


Do you have secondary egress in the attic?

How about the bathrooms?

Walk-in closets?
cleveman is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 11:43 PM   #7
Pro
 
Higgs's Avatar
 
Trade: CE Project Engineer
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mountain Home ID
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Cellar Vrs Basmenet Egress...failed Inspection


you in montgomery AL?
__________________
Higgins
"The more we sweat in peace, the less we bleed in war."
-- Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit (1900-1990)
Higgs is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 12:17 AM   #8
Pro
 
K2's Avatar
 
Trade: Colorado master electrician, EC, B-1 GC
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Colorado Front Range
Posts: 2,603
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Cellar Vrs Basmenet Egress...failed Inspection


Quote:
Originally Posted by RC LLC View Post
clear
Homeowner might not want it but he may sell in a few years and sure as chit someone will be making that 9' space into living space and maybe not pulling permits and then you could have kids down there with no ingress/egress. My area requires us to window up unfinished basements to accomadate any future layout for finished space. Just makes good sense to me....
K2 is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 10:21 AM   #9
Curmudgeon
 
neolitic's Avatar
 
Trade: carpentry/remodeling/"Yes M'am we do"
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beech Grove, Indiana, Birthplace of the "King of Cool"
Posts: 11,706
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Cellar Vrs Basmenet Egress...failed Inspection


Quote:
Originally Posted by K2 View Post
Homeowner might not want it but he may sell in a few years and sure as chit someone will be making that 9' space into living space and maybe not pulling permits and then you could have kids down there with no ingress/egress. My area requires us to window up unfinished basements to accomadate any future layout for finished space. Just makes good sense to me....
But then you'd be stealing thousands
of dollars from me, when I come along
five years later and charge them for
an egress window or two!
__________________
Put your location in your profile!
(Sorry....it seems there really are dumb questions)
neolitic is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 10:23 AM   #10
Curmudgeon
 
neolitic's Avatar
 
Trade: carpentry/remodeling/"Yes M'am we do"
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beech Grove, Indiana, Birthplace of the "King of Cool"
Posts: 11,706
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Cellar Vrs Basmenet Egress...failed Inspection


Higgs, listen up!


Quote:
Originally Posted by RC LLC View Post
Just finished a house in Montgomery county MD. .........

Advertisement

__________________
Put your location in your profile!
(Sorry....it seems there really are dumb questions)
neolitic is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Final Inspection jerryaldini Inspections 15 12-20-2012 01:54 AM
Win a M-Spector Digital Inspection Camera judeherr Off Topic (Non Trade) 1 08-11-2008 03:47 PM
building a wine cellar vaultf600 Carpentry 8 02-22-2008 08:31 AM
Inspection Scheduling fireguy Business 3 11-11-2007 10:38 PM
Home inspection brentsid Inspections 13 03-26-2007 10:27 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?