Building A Safe Room / Vault - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Building A Safe Room / Vault

Old 10-22-2012, 09:18 AM   #1
Pro

Trade: Contractor
Rewards Points: 293

Building A Safe Room / Vault

A customer originally wanted to add a basic 8'x15' room on to their house to put a gun safe in and store all their hunting related equipment. No problem.

Now they have found a place that sells vault doors http://www.sportsmansteelsafes.com/defender.htm and they are thinking of instead of making the room for a safe just make the whole room a safe. Cool idea I think.

I have never built anything like this before and am looking for ideas. Go with thick concrete for the walls and ceiling? Doing some searching it seems some people build ordinary wood framed walls then cover them with expanded metal and then 3/4" plywood, and then two layers of sheetrock. I guess the double sheetrock gives fire protection, the plywood gives kick through protection, and the metal saw through protection (at least slows them down)

The customers are not trying to build fort knox but they want the room reasonably fortified. Any of you guys ever build something like this?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 10-22-2012, 09:40 AM   #2
Fire up the BBQ

Trade: GC
Rewards Points: 1,644

Re: Building A Safe Room / Vault

Safe Room & Vault can be two vwry different things.

Why do they want a "Safe Room" as opposed to a vault/gun safe?

Is fire protection a consideration? If so for how long to what exposure?

Don't forget to allow for air intake, from what source, for how long & for how many people.

Advertisement

Old 10-22-2012, 09:55 AM   #3
Pro