Is Bonding For Additional Pool Rebar Necessary? - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Is Bonding For Additional Pool Rebar Necessary?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2020, 09:55 AM   #1
Registered User
 
davidmdusa's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contracting
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2

Is Bonding For Additional Pool Rebar Necessary?


We're installing a pool and had to come back in and add additional rebar to accommodate a shelf extension after Gunite was shot. The additional rebar is not bonded to the main grid. Is that necessary?

We already received inspection approval after the first shoot and the issue in the design was not identified until days after, at which point we came back in and added two sets of isolated rebar and simply pinned it in the Gunite before shooting again.

Should we have removed part of the existing structure to then bond the new rebar to the existing rebar? What issues could we face with the isolated rebar that's not bonded? Are there any safety concerns now? Do we need to go back and figure out how to bond this new rebar with the old or tie it into the grid as well?

I'm trying to figure out what we need to do if anything before we have tile plaster subs come in.
davidmdusa is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 06-21-2020, 10:22 AM   #2
Contractor
 
tgeb's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation, Foundation, Concrete
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,765
Rewards Points: 1,006

Re: Is Bonding For Additional Pool Rebar Necessary?


You could probably cut into your new section and have the electrician bond it separately.

That might be easier than trying to tie the new and older work together. Just my 2 cents.

Advertisement

__________________
Tom

www.gebcon.com
tgeb is online now  
Old 06-21-2020, 12:23 PM   #3
Design/Build
 
NJ Contractor's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,081
Rewards Points: 1,178

Re: Is Bonding For Additional Pool Rebar Necessary?


Bond the 2 grids together with not smaller than 8 AWG wire
NJ Contractor is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to NJ Contractor For This Useful Post:
TxElectrician (06-21-2020)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Today, 07:27 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Gc1955's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1

Re: Is Bonding For Additional Pool Rebar Necessary?


If you can get the new rebar bond to an existing equipment bond, ie; pool cage, pool pump casing, pool heater, you will be okay. The idea of the bond is that EVERYTHING is bonded together. So if you can’t get from point a-b, go from point b-c. As long as everything is connected together at some point.
Gc1955 is online now  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?