Any Regrets? - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Any Regrets?

Old 11-02-2014, 06:18 PM   #1

Trade: Carpenter
Rewards Points: 151

Any Regrets?

I need some thoughts and I know every situation is different but it's nice to hear real world input from people who live it. I work in the oil and gas field as a plant operator and it's a gravy job with benefits, but I hate it,I have had a small construction company I started in 05 as a side business because I have two weeks a month off from my other job.

The past two years have been really busy, and I'm way behind and turning down jobs now, I've had customers wait months on me and it bothers me even though they are willing to wait. I have been working 16 hour days on my days off trying to stay remotely caught up and now I feel I have to decide which path to take.

I guess what I'm looking for is insight from people who use this as a livelyhood, do you regret it? Would you change it? I make a good living with benefits at my other job, I do the carpenter work because I enjoy it more so than the money I guess but I make really good at it too. I almost feel stupid even thinking about quitting my job in the gas industry because it's a job people around here wish they were blessed enough to have. I'm scared of I go full time it will turn into a "job" instead of something I love doing

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 11-02-2014, 06:22 PM   #2
Noob

Trade: Framing
Rewards Points: 80

Re: Any Regrets?

If you love what you're doing, you'll never work a day in your life. Or something like that.

Advertisement