Advice On General Contracting - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Advice On General Contracting

Old 01-21-2010, 07:41 PM   #1
New Guy

Trade: remodeling/cabinetmaker
Rewards Points: 10

Advice On General Contracting

Im looking for advice on the proper steps to take when GC'ing a job. I've only taken on jobs that i could handle myself. No major electrical, or plumbing work. I am currently "bidding" on a basement job thats going to need an electrician and a drywall contractor. I can handle the framing work and the floors and trim. Is there a proper way to handle this job? I've already looked at the job, took measurements, wrote down exactly what the customer wants and so forth. Is there a protocol as to how i contact subs. I've never used any before so should i just get a referral from someone i know? Then what do I do? I assume Im going to have to take them to look at the job, or can they bid it out from what i tell them? I think Im ready to take the next step and start doing bigger jobs. I just need some guidance. Would it be unprofessional to call another well known contractor and ask him to go over a few things? Any advice would be nice. thanks

Jason

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-21-2010, 08:03 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Design/Build Remodeler
Rewards Points: 818

Re: Advice On General Contracting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Addon Builders View Post