Website Review Input - Websites and SEO - Contractor Talk

Website Review Input

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2012, 10:24 AM   #1
Pro
 
tonyc56's Avatar
 
Trade: Window Treatments
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Norwood, MA
Posts: 750
Rewards Points: 3,660

Website Review Input


Hi all,

I you have the time, check out my following websites and please provide your input--pros and cons

Thanks!

www.awningguyforshade.com

http://www.sleeklinescreens.com/

Last edited by tonyc56; 12-20-2012 at 10:31 AM.
tonyc56 is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-20-2012, 01:39 PM   #2
Licensed Gas contractor
 
gastek's Avatar
 
Trade: Pools
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 708
Rewards Points: 1,012

Re: Website Review Input


They are both very nicely done. Although I prefer the looks of the Sleek Line site over the other one. For both of them I think your phone number should be in larger print to make it easier to see. I also think you should have a form to fill out for the contact us. This way the user can enter in their info right there on your site and then press a send button and it gets sent to you.

As for the Awing Guy site, it would be nice to have it scroll/roll thru your testimonial on the front page. This way the customer can more than just one.

Advertisement

gastek is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 02:07 PM   #3
PRO
 
BrandConst's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,934
Rewards Points: 1,000

Re: Website Review Input


Your phone number should stand out, I had to do a double take to try and find it.
BrandConst is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-20-2012, 03:21 PM   #4
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,639
Rewards Points: 9,994

Re: Website Review Input


I would make it a different url. No one is going to type in that address if they have to.
JBM is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 11:06 PM   #5
Pro
 
vividpainting's Avatar
 
Trade: Painting
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 133

Re: Website Review Input


I second enlarging the phone number, you dont want a potential customer to have to look too long.
__________________
http://vividpaintingllc.com
vividpainting is offline  
Old 12-21-2012, 06:43 AM   #6
Licensed Gas contractor
 
gastek's Avatar
 
Trade: Pools
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 708
Rewards Points: 1,012

Re: Website Review Input


Quote:
Originally Posted by JBM View Post
I would make it a different url. No one is going to type in that address if they have to.
Does anyone type in URL's these days? Don't most just google what they are looking for and then click on the link?
gastek is offline  
Old 12-21-2012, 05:36 PM   #7
PRO
 
BrandConst's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,934
Rewards Points: 1,000

Re: Website Review Input


Quote:
Originally Posted by gastek View Post
Does anyone type in URL's these days? Don't most just google what they are looking for and then click on the link?
I was thinking the same thing.
BrandConst is offline  
Old 12-21-2012, 05:42 PM   #8
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,639
Rewards Points: 9,994

Re: Website Review Input


Do you guys google sears, facebook, apple or Dell first and click on the link?

The thing is brand recognition. There is no brand recognition in VisitwithyourfriendsonFacebook.com or Reliablecomputersatcheapprices.dell.com or theappledoesntfalltofarfromthetree.com

there is brand recognition in boston(newengland)(superior)awnings.com
JBM is offline  
Old 12-22-2012, 11:27 AM   #9
Licensed Gas contractor
 
gastek's Avatar
 
Trade: Pools
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 708
Rewards Points: 1,012

Re: Website Review Input


Quote:
Originally Posted by JBM View Post
Do you guys google sears, facebook, apple or Dell first and click on the link?

The thing is brand recognition. There is no brand recognition in VisitwithyourfriendsonFacebook.com or Reliablecomputersatcheapprices.dell.com or theappledoesntfalltofarfromthetree.com

there is brand recognition in boston(newengland)(superior)awnings.com
But Sears, Apple, Facebook, Dell, etc are a different beast. In order for someone to find a company that does awnings, they are going to most likely go to Google and search for something awnings. Now unless you were told by a friend that Bobs Awning Sales is awesome, then you would try to type in a specific URL, bobsawningsales.com.

When I'm looking for something on the net I search Google. I don't try and type in URL's to see what I get. Once I find what I'm looking for, I either bookmark it or stick it somewhere in my overloaded brain. Most of the time I never even really look at the URL.
gastek is offline  
Old 12-22-2012, 01:54 PM   #10
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,639
Rewards Points: 9,994

Re: Website Review Input


I know what your sayin. But if that website ever end up on print media, or the side of a truck people wont type it in.
JBM is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 08:10 PM   #11
Professional Web Surfer
 
SebastianRodak's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Website Review Input


I definitely prefer the look and feel of your Retractable Screens site over your Awning site. It looks much more professional.

I agree with everyone else, you should make your phone number more pronounced. I would also keep it in the header of every page, not just the homepage.

Like gastek said, you should definitely have a "contact us" form on both of your websites so that your clients can easily contact you without being redirected to their email. Also, I would add an actual contact us page to your Awning website in place of the drop down you currently have with just your email and phone number.

Lastly, I would consider adding a separate page on each of your websites specifically for reviews/testimonials. In my opinion, I would focus on promoting your products/services instead of placing a testimonial on the top of every page. Maybe just moving them over to the side of the page would look better.

Just my two cents!

Last edited by SebastianRodak; 12-29-2012 at 08:12 PM.
SebastianRodak is offline  
Old 01-01-2013, 01:09 PM   #12
New Guy
 
ItsJon's Avatar
 
Trade: Consulting
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 31

Re: Website Review Input


You do need a strong Call To Action on your home pages.
Meaning telling someone to fill out a form or give you a call for a free quote, estimate, in home consultation, whatever....

On the AwningGuy site, I would move the link to the SleekLine site, to the footer or at least bottom of the page. The spot it's in now, should have a phone number and call to action.

But, more importantly, you need to test everything.
__________________
Grow Your Business At Least 25% In the Next 90 Days Without Spending More On Advertising, Guaranteed!
ItsJon is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 05:26 AM   #13
We Repair Garage Doors
 
doorrepairsac's Avatar
 
Trade: Garage doors, openers and garage door repair
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 274
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Website Review Input


Starting a website/ad off with a testimonial might be OK, probably not. But if you were going to attempt it why would use a testimonial painting your customer as a dip*****.

"When the Awning Guy came to our house, we weren't sure what to expect"

Maybe we should run a quick check to see if all the pets are around after he leaves.

If he shows up in a clown outfit we won't answer the door.

If he parks on the lawn I'm going to call the cops.

Why would this have any credibility?

The rest of the testimonial is even worse. The writer comes across like a screwball.

Advertisement

doorrepairsac is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Made in USA product list J.C. General Discussion 378 04-23-2019 05:16 AM
Review Pro Magnum Shear™ I-13 Hamburgler Flooring 5 11-06-2011 05:32 PM
New Website - Please Review TrinityHome Technology 20 12-07-2009 12:15 PM
What is the purpose of your website? Crete Buster Marketing & Sales 4 01-28-2009 02:44 PM
Enka Website Review Enka Technology 5 07-18-2006 08:53 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?