Opinions On Website Appreciated ? - Websites and SEO - Contractor Talk

Opinions On Website Appreciated ?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2012, 11:25 PM   #1
Flatrooferstl
 
Flatrooferstl's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St Louis
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 79

Opinions On Website Appreciated ?


Please let me know your opinions on this website
http://www.TheFlatRoofCo.com
Flatrooferstl is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 05-10-2012, 11:32 PM   #2
Member
 
proremodelers1's Avatar
 
Trade: New Construction, Home Remodeling
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Opinions On Website Appreciated ?


I love it very professional but maybe try to make the headline bold. "st louis..."

Advertisement

proremodelers1 is offline  
Old 05-11-2012, 07:15 AM   #3
Pro
 
flashheatingand's Avatar
 
Trade: H.v.a.c.
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boise, Id
Posts: 3,920
Rewards Points: 3,532

Re: Opinions On Website Appreciated ?


Looks very sharp
__________________
http://www.37flash.com/
flashheatingand is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2012, 08:09 AM   #4
ConstructionMarketingPro
 
JohnFerr's Avatar
 
Trade: Marketer for Construction Companies/Contractors
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 154
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Opinions On Website Appreciated ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Flatrooferstl View Post
Please let me know your opinions on this website
http://www.TheFlatRoofCo.com
Good website and starting point. The headers are using an odd font - what font is that?

How are you promoting the site?
JohnFerr is offline  
Old 05-11-2012, 08:09 AM   #5
PRO
 
BrandConst's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,936
Rewards Points: 1,004

Re: Opinions On Website Appreciated ?


I like it, looks clean. The lettering on your truck looks really good too.
BrandConst is offline  
Old 05-11-2012, 09:41 AM   #6
Registered User
 
416plumbers's Avatar
 
Trade: Plumber
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Opinions On Website Appreciated ?


Looks good! Just a comment on your estimate request button: I was reading that call to actions do better when they're on the right hand side of the page since that is where people naturally 'terminate' their visual scan. Maybe something to test out down the road.
416plumbers is offline  
Old 05-11-2012, 09:58 AM   #7
ConstructionMarketingPro
 
JohnFerr's Avatar
 
Trade: Marketer for Construction Companies/Contractors
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 154
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Opinions On Website Appreciated ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 416plumbers View Post
Looks good! Just a comment on your estimate request button: I was reading that call to actions do better when they're on the right hand side of the page since that is where people naturally 'terminate' their visual scan. Maybe something to test out down the road.
You are right.

An interesting article on what's called the "F Pattern". http://www.useit.com/alertbox/reading_pattern.html

I incorporate this technique in most of my website designs.
JohnFerr is offline  
Old 05-11-2012, 06:12 PM   #8
Pro
 
BonnieLowe's Avatar
 
Trade: Marketing for Contractors and Other Pros
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 207
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Opinions On Website Appreciated ?


Nice, clean site -- looks great!

I love the first paragraph on your About Us page, particularly this: "The roofing business has its share of pretenders who don't last any longer than their shoddy work. You don't need that over your head." It would be great to have more of that style throughout the site. It almost seems like someone else wrote the second paragraph, though (it's more "business as usual" instead of "interesting and original").

The color of the links is a bit too light/hard to read -- but my eyes are old (and tired at the moment).

Your "Gallery" photos are tiny (yes, I realize they are thumbnail images that expand when clicked, but they're smaller than usual thumbnails.) You might want to add "Click any image to enlarge" (not everyone will know that).

Some of your Service descriptions are a bit short. Perhaps as you have time, you can expand the content on each page. I'd shoot for a minimum of 300 words -- and at least one image.

I like that the content is aimed at people and not search engines -- meaning you don't overuse "St. Louis roofing" (or similar keyword phrases).

Nice "References" page!

I think your "Request a Free Estimate" location is fine. Yes, most websites these days put it in the upper right. But does that mean it's the best location for every type of site? People read from left to right. The location you're using is "hot" on heat maps (thanks for the link to that article, John). A lot of people who come to your site will be looking specifically for an Estimate. (They might not even read anything else if they've got a leaky roof and need 3 quick estimates before their insurance company will do anything about it.) If they see it right off the bat, where they naturally start reading, and that's precisely what they're looking for -- that seems like the best location to me. Besides, your "Contact Us" link is over there in the top right corner anyway... so I think you've got it covered.

Again, nice job!
BonnieLowe is offline  
Old 05-13-2012, 05:56 AM   #9
Flatrooferstl
 
Flatrooferstl's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St Louis
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 79

Re: Opinions On Website Appreciated ?


I really appreciate the feedback everyone..Bonnie, thanks for the tips..
Flatrooferstl is offline  
Old 05-13-2012, 07:11 AM   #10
The Ultimate Wire Hider
 
tedanderson's Avatar
 
Trade: A/V & Home Theater Installation
Join Date: May 2010
Location: PG County MD
Posts: 4,455
Rewards Points: 2,116

Re: Opinions On Website Appreciated ?


As the Brits say- it's "spot-on"

One thing that a website does for your business is establish trust in the mind of the consumer. Without reading everything on the site or looking at all of the pages, I can say that I'd call you for an estimate without thinking twice about it.

Then after you do the estimate, I have something to go back and look at to verify whether everything you said is indeed what your website says.

It's perfect!

Advertisement

tedanderson is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
website up...opinions? TaitINC Technology 32 04-07-2009 10:45 AM
What is the purpose of your website? Crete Buster Marketing & Sales 4 01-28-2009 02:44 PM
How do I advertize/promote my new website? Home Services Marketing & Sales 10 01-28-2009 05:51 AM
Website opinions please Brandon1 Technology 7 12-18-2008 10:13 AM
Need Opinions On Our New Website Prostaff Technology 22 06-12-2007 07:15 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?