Question About Floating Wood Flooring - Flooring - Contractor Talk

Question About Floating Wood Flooring

Old 01-14-2006, 03:46 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Question About Floating Wood Flooring

Ok, this is my first time working with floating wood flooring, now I know the type of flooring to get, what I need help with is underlayment. Im not sure what would be good for area im working in. What im doing is replacing the carpets on the first floor of a normal house with floating wood flooring. theres a basement below and every thing seems good and dry. under the carpeting is old tongue & groove flooring. some of its painted, and the unpainted parts is a bit splintery. and the boards are a bit uneven. what id like to know is what underlayment I should use and how thick it should be. I came across some stuff that looks good but it doesnt give enough info for a sloid choice. I really like the underlayment I came across called Quietwalk. but I can only find it in 1/8 incl thickness and im not sure if its thinck enough. does that matter or should I go for something like rubber or cork. or does anyone have any recommendations on underlayment. I really like the everything the the Quietwalk has and it seems it would be great for the house its going in. anyway, any help and info would be greatly appreciate. well thats it for now, thank you for your time and for any help. any questions just ask.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-14-2006, 03:55 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 250

Re: Question About Floating Wood Flooring