How To Remove Turf Glue From A Porous Exterior Concrete? - Flooring - Contractor Talk

How To Remove Turf Glue From A Porous Exterior Concrete?

Old 09-19-2019, 02:41 PM   #1

Trade: Concrete Resurfacing / Decorative Concrete
Rewards Points: 12

How To Remove Turf Glue From A Porous Exterior Concrete?

Hi guys,

I've spent all day yesterday trying to remove 300 sq feet of glue. I'm a concrete resurfacing contractor, and the client hired me to remove the glue and stain the floor.

I can normally remove glue of a 300 sq foot room, and prep the floor in two-three hours.

I tried pressure washing, and it didn't work. I tried several strippers from home depot (which all seemed very much the same), and pressure washing, but that also didn't work. Scraping is not an option because of the porosity.

I also tried grinding with a 10" grinder. Between the concrete being too porous, and the blades constantly getting clogged with residue, it did almost nothing.

I'm thinking I need to soften the glue up with some sort of chemical, and then pressure wash it. I just can't seem to find the right chemical.

Have you got any advice?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 09-19-2019, 03:11 PM   #2
Fire up the BBQ

Trade: GC

Re: How To Remove Turf Glue From A Porous Exterior Concrete?

Check these guys out:

https://www.jondon.com/chemicals/aba...-removers.html

I've also seen the abatement guys use a soy based solvent that worked really well to remove glue from concrete.

Advertisement

concretestain (09-19-2019)
Old 09-19-2019, 03:22 PM   #3

Thanks for the link, I saw a video of those guys on youtube.