Carpet Seam Repair - Flooring - Contractor Talk

Carpet Seam Repair

Old 01-24-2020, 08:37 PM   #1

Trade: carpentry, remodeling
Rewards Points: 59

Carpet Seam Repair

I ironed a seam to remove a section of carpet in order to do mold remediation and other work, when I rolled it back into place and used the iron to re-glue the seam on the existing seam tape, the seam was imperfect despite re-stretching with Robinson kicker.
Can I use any kind of adhesive to lay in a strand of the white carpet between the green strands to cover the seam, which now looks like double green, not green-white-green? I can dry fit the strand that came out to look pretty good, and I saw a squeeze-bottle product at Lowe's that will dry clear... Any advice appreciated! I am not a flooring pro. Clearly. Last pic being the dry fit using 5-1 tool.
Attached Thumbnails
Carpet Seam Repair-img_2221.jpg   Carpet Seam Repair-img_2222.jpg   Carpet Seam Repair-img_2223.jpg  

Last edited by zmusashi; 01-24-2020 at 08:40 PM.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-24-2020, 08:52 PM   #2
Fire up the BBQ

Trade: GC
Rewards Points: 1,936

Re: Carpet Seam Repair

just my .02 cents worth but i would hire a PRO floor guy before you end up replacing a room full of carpet.

Advertisement

Calidecks (01-24-2020), zmusashi (01-24-2020)
Old 01-24-2020, 11:06 PM   #3
GC/carpenter

Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Rewards Points: 8,916

It would be money well spent. At least get an assessment before you chance ruining it to the point of no return.

Mike.

Old 01-25-2020, 10:44 AM   #4
Pro

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 1,236