Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

Help with construction drawings

2K views 19 replies 8 participants last post by  B.Johnson 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, been around for two weeks or so but this is my first topic. I'd like to be able to draw out plans for a simple remodel, a porch add on, etc. However, I'm a terrible artist. Does anyone know of a step by step tutorial that teaches you how to draw 3D pictures but in a way that's construction related? I'd prefer to draw them because Im waiting to grow the business a little more before investing in a good software.

#4 ·
I'd prefer to draw them because Im waiting to grow the business a little more before investing in a good software.
The first time you have to revise a drawing, you'll more than offset the cost of basic software.

Back when, everything was hand drawn, and I've done a ton of hand drawing. By the time you get a drawing board, t-square, triangles, rule, pencil(s), you're over the cost of an inexpensive HO level program.

Having said that, IMO if you want to be a great designer, start by hand designing. It will help you to recognize where the issues are going to be up front and develop an approach to getting a design right the first time.

#5 ·
That makes a lot of sense. I'm sure fixing mistakes on paper is a big headache in itself. Maybe I should just make a few jobs up and try drawing them out just for the experience before I actually draw out a job. I'd rather have the experience and not need it than need the experience and not have it.

For a design program I'd like to find one for iPad/iPhone and that I can transfer from device to device. That way it'd be a little easier to work with around the house. As long as I don't have to sacrifice quality of the program at least.

#16 ·