DeWalt Self-Leveling Line Laser (Horizontle & Vertical) DW087k

  • Overall Rating
    5
    7
    Rating 57 reviewsReviews_shortcut
  • Add to your toolboxQ_mark
  • Bottom Line

    Reviewers who would recommend this to a friend

    YES (6)
    VS
    NO (1)

DeWalt Self-Leveling Line Laser (Horizontle & Vertical) DW087k

Lasers, like life, can go either wonderfully well or wretchedly wrong depending on the choices you make. The incorrect laser purchase can be an utter contracting nightmare, regardless of whether you're a Professional, completing steel framing, or a tool enthusiast setting cabinets in a refurbished kitchen. That's why there is the DeWalt DW087K self-leveling split beam laser line. DeWalt even made the job that much easier for the end user by creating the DW087K with self-leveling technology, as well as 1-button operation and control panel. The DW087K is perfect for everything from hanging items to mounting boxes with ease. Users all attest that when serious, quality leveling is required, there is no other consideration but the DeWalt DW087K self-leveling split beam laser line.

Specifications for DeWalt Self-Leveling Line Laser (Horizontle & Vertical) DW087k

What do you think?

Share your experiences and opinions about this tool.

Reviews (7)

Star_5
DeWalt Self-Leveling Line Laser (Horizontle & Vertical) DW087k Product Reviews
  • 5 Star
    (7)
  • 4 Star
    (0)
  • 3 Star
    (0)
  • 2 Star
    (0)
  • 1 Star
    (0)
  • No-avatar-62
    Dutchman TileApril 30, 20115

    Great Laser

    I use it for leveling tile on wall and in showers, Works perfect for this application. love the fact that it has threads on the bottom that will accept standard camera tripod mounting screw.

    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 0
    • 0
    • No-avatar-62
      bfitzover 6 years ago

      How much are the lasers? Looking to buy a new one soon

      www.starremodeling.org

  • Thumb_avatar69857_1
    Tech DawgDecember 14, 20115

    Tile walls for Dummies

    I bought this a few months ago and has made layout for tile walls quicker and easier! I also use this for many other things as well such as mounting bathroom accessories, grab bars and works nice for templating process of Swanstone bathwall surrounds.

    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 0
    • 0
    • Thumb_small_south_shore_remodeling
      SSCalmost 6 years ago

      I have been using these lasers for years on everything from framing, drop ceilings, floor leveling, windows doors etc. Once you learn how to use it the possibilities are endless. Must have tool for a remodeler

  • Thumb_south_shore_remodeling
    SSCDecember 14, 20115

    Must have tool

    Must have tool for any carpenter /remodeler / tile installer. Price is right, accuracy is great for the average size home. I almost never use my levels anymore!

    • Pros:
    • adaptability
    • case
    • shoots over and behind itself
    • Cons:
    • none
    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 2
    • 0
    • Thumb_small_fall%20o7%20012
      Sar-Conalmost 6 years ago

      This level works great..indoors. Outdoors not so good, unless cloudy or dark.
      Good bang for you buck, and pretty solid.

    • Thumb_small_avatar52507_1
      rselectric1almost 6 years ago

      I absolutely LOVE this tool. I only got it about 3 weeks ago but have used it on 3 kitchen electrical jobs for layout and it has saved me LOTS of time.

      I also discovered that the magnet is strong enough to stick through the drywall to outside corner beads so it will "mount" to any height you want without setting a screw.

  • Thumb_iphone%200411
    160ABJanuary 24, 20125

    Wish I would have got it sooner

    Very useful for establishing visual level and plumb reference points. The 3 dimensional view is quite useful as the horizontal beam wraps around walls, studs & jogs, and the vertical beam returns back to the device along ceiling and floor. Either beam seperatley or both together can be used. The device pivots smoothly off the magnetic bracket on back making side to side adjustments easiely very useful when trying to line up the vertical beam to the edge of a wall, door etc. Easy to set up by hanging on a screw or there is also a bracket with a screw hole and a small clip for suspended ceilings that the unit magnetically clips to. It can also be placed directly on the floor or a counter/shelf. Magnet is nice and powerful. Bought mine at Rona for 206.- after tax and contractor discount. Retails at 219.- + tax but worth every penny. Nice addition to a five beam laser which is still optimal for plumbing end points.

    • Pros:
    • Three dimensional steady lines
    • Easy to use
    • Many different uses
    • Cons:
    • Not a plumb bob
    • NO
    • I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 1
    • 0
    • Thumb_a
      blackbearJanuary 25, 20125

      cant go wrong

      Have had it for 2 years or so and its still dead on accurate. Perfect for interior use. I Preferred using this over a co workers 600 hilti laser.

      • YES
      • I would recommend this to a friend
      • Was this Review Helpful?
      • 0
      • 0
      • Thumb_a5efd053
        Unger.constOctober 20, 20145

        Great time saver

        Speeds up installs and cuts down errors. Use it for cabinet installs, doors, window ,trim, tile,. Checking old houses for level, paneling, hanging pictures, shelves. Chair rail.

        Great for helping customers understand issues, say an unlevel porch or door frame. Sure you could put a level on a beam but they don't operate levels so the kinda glaze over the issue . Paint the laser on it and the can see the big picture then.

        • YES
        • I would recommend this to a friend
        • Was this Review Helpful?
        • 1
        • 0
        • Thumb_small_avatar52507_1
          rselectric1almost 3 years ago

          Update. Still working like it's brand new and I use it every single day.  Three years later.

      • Thumb_ca75a2da
        cedarboarderOctober 10, 20175

        great for indoors

        great for indoors, not bad outdoors.
        no complaints.

        • Pros:
        • extray battery storage
        • Cons:
        • not best in daylight
        • YES
        • I would recommend this to a friend
        • Was this Review Helpful?
        • 0
        • 0
        Displaying 1–7 of 7

        Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

        I am a professional contractor
        I am a DIY Homeowner
        ContractorTalk is for
        PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

        At ContractorTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

        Redirecing in 10 seconds
        No Thanks
        terms of service

        Already Have an Account?