Porter Cable Pancake Air Compressor C2006

  • Overall Rating
    3
    12
    Rating 312 reviewsReviews_shortcut
  • Add to your toolboxQ_mark
  • Bottom Line

    Reviewers who would recommend this to a friend

    YES (10)
    VS
    NO (2)

Porter Cable Pancake Air Compressor C2006

  • Oil-free pump for no maintenance
  • Low Amp 120V motor starts easily in cold weather or with extension cord
  • Includes water drain valve and rubber feet
  • 150 PSI - Higher Pressure for longer air tool performance
  • Fast recovery time
  • Upgraded shroud, handle, and console cover protects vital components and makes unit easier to carry and includes cord wrap
  • Two regulated, factory installed air couplers to easily support two users

Specifications for Porter Cable Pancake Air Compressor C2006

What do you think?

Share your experiences and opinions about this tool.

Reviews (12)

Star_3
Porter Cable Pancake Air Compressor C2006 Product Reviews
  • 5 Star
    (3)
  • 4 Star
    (4)
  • 3 Star
    (4)
  • 2 Star
    (1)
  • 1 Star
    (0)
  • Thumb_avatar52507_1
    rselectric1January 06, 20114

    Adequate performance

    Seems to work fine for one man operations. I did have to prematurely replace the bleeder valve, but otherwise it's a good compressor.

    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 0
    • 0
    • Thumb_small_d7df17a3
      Irishslaveover 6 years ago

      I have one and I'll bet mine is the loudest one out there

  • Thumb_vic%20porch%20logo%20mar%2010
    Chris GApril 27, 20112

    Not bad, but certainly not great.

    I own two of these. Both have died after one year of use. I had them repaired under warranty, but one of them has a stuck release valve again. The price is good when combined with a nailer, (which works well), but as far as a compressor goes, I wouldn't recommend it for a contractor. Very loud as well.

    • NO
    • I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 0
    • 0
    • No-avatar-62
      Fit&FinishApril 27, 20114

      Quieter than a screaming baby

      Bought mine in 2005. I run finish guns to framers and flooring nailers off it. Won't die, dammit. I bleed it almost everyday. Used to be loud, but after six years of using air tools nothing seems loud anymore, except for my crying infant.

      • YES
      • I would recommend this to a friend
      • Was this Review Helpful?
      • 0
      • 0
      • Thumb_avatar25_1
        GrumpyApril 28, 20113

        it is what it is

        I own this and have had it for years. it was the first compressor I ever bought when I started my business in 2003/2004. Well maybe not this exact model, but it was a Porter pancake. It still works great even thoguh I threw my snow blower on it last winter. oops.

        It is what it is though, it's not a heavy duty contractor grade compressor. It's good for small trim jobs, repairs, or a 2 man shingle roof job. I have used it for all with no complaints. This is not what I would use for my 5 man shingle roofing crew however as it'd constantly be cycling.

        • Pros:
        • cheap and portable
        • Cons:
        • not good for big job
        • YES
        • I would recommend this to a friend
        • Was this Review Helpful?
        • 0
        • 0
        • Thumb_thumb_large_229522_201934506516926_100001011334565_542356_3141960_n
          RemodelorMay 08, 20115

          Best Small Compressor for the Money

          I'm giving this 5 stars because of it's price and performance. You'll usually find this compressor for around $75 at your local Home Depot or Lowes. On top of that, it doesn't cause the entire block's lights to dim when it starts up and it only weighs 35 lbs, so you can carry it, a hose and a nail gun all in one trip with ease.

          It makes up for its slow recharge time (about 2 mins from empty to max) with a max PSI of 150. That means that for small jobs, it's ideal for any small job. As a trim nailer compressor, you can run all day with this compressor without issue. Once you get up to framing or using it with a hopper / HVLP paint gun, then it's for tiny jobs only.

          I can and have textured a small bathroom ceiling, but doing a living room would really be pushing the limits of its rechargeability. All and all, it's portability, cost and high max pressure make it the perfect buy as a compressor for a handyman, installer or as a backup for a big project contractor. In addition, it uses an oil-free pump, which means that it is lower maintenance, and while it may not last as long as an oil-pump, it is much much cheaper to replace when it finally does go.

          • Pros:
          • cost
          • lightweight
          • max psi of 150
          • oil free pump (low maintenance)
          • Cons:
          • slow recharge rate
          • YES
          • I would recommend this to a friend
          • Was this Review Helpful?
          • 0
          • 0
          • Thumb_rooster
            Lion HunterNovember 13, 20125

            great compressor

            love that little thing, works on my framer and trim guns

            • YES
            • I would recommend this to a friend
            • Was this Review Helpful?
            • 0
            • 0
            • Thumb_1ec5664c
              skyhookNovember 13, 20125

              great little compressor

              I've been using mine daily, air tools, texture and paint guns, impact wrenches, blower, tire inflator, etc. for 10 years with absolutely no problems.

              • Pros:
              • tough and light.
              • Cons:
              • None
              • YES
              • I would recommend this to a friend
              • Was this Review Helpful?
              • 0
              • 0
              • Thumb_69314_1636856962166_624841_n
                C2projectsMay 30, 20143

                About what you'd expect

                These are great for small jobs. In and out in a few hours type jobs. I would use mine primarily for framing in frost walls. They are light weight which is my biggest attraction to them. When you're having to move it more than once a day that is a big plus.

                They are loud, so I would recommend either ear plugs or leaving them run outside, and have some hoses route to where you are.

                They are no good for big projects or mulit tool use. I tried using one while framing a house while my other compressor was temporarily down and it was awful. with only 2 of us on it at once he couldn't keep up.

                • Pros:
                • light weight
                • good for small jobs
                • Cons:
                • noisy
                • YES
                • I would recommend this to a friend
                • Was this Review Helpful?
                • 0
                • 0
                • Thumb_aeb2c779
                  thehockeydmanNovember 23, 20143

                  Good as a back-up/alternative

                  I found a used one with two hoses for $70, so I picked it up. It's very light. Runs a single framing nailer just fine, but I wouldn't even bother trying to run multiple tools off it judging by some of the other reviews I've had. Certainly not a bad option for a light compressor that you can take around with you while your main unit stays elsewhere.

                  • Pros:
                  • Portable
                  • Cheap
                  • Light
                  • Cons:
                  • Loud
                  • Too small for big jobs
                  • YES
                  • I would recommend this to a friend
                  • Was this Review Helpful?
                  • 0
                  • 0
                  • Thumb_avatar1
                    gideondNovember 28, 20143

                    Mediocre

                    I've used several of these. Everyone seems to have one. They are average at best. Lifespan seems to be short on them since they are always running to keep any pressure in the tank

                    • NO
                    • I would not recommend this to a friend
                    • Was this Review Helpful?
                    • 0
                    • 0
                    • Thumb_e347188e
                      Mark122December 02, 20144

                      use it alot

                      Have owned one for 4+ yrs and did have to replace the bleeder but this was more than likely due to abuse. since then have not had problems with it.

                      • YES
                      • I would recommend this to a friend
                      • Was this Review Helpful?
                      • 0
                      • 0
                      • Thumb_ca75a2da
                        cedarboarderDecember 01, 20174

                        not the best but cheap

                        air bleeder on the bottom busted.
                        other than that no issues good cheap compressor
                        reliable

                        • Pros:
                        • cheap
                        • Cons:
                        • load
                        • YES
                        • I would recommend this to a friend
                        • Was this Review Helpful?
                        • 0
                        • 0
                        Displaying 1–12 of 12

                        Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

                        I am a professional contractor
                        I am a DIY Homeowner
                        ContractorTalk is for
                        PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

                        At ContractorTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

                        Redirecing in 10 seconds
                        No Thanks
                        terms of service

                        Already Have an Account?