skil tools 7-1/4" Magnesium Worm Drive Skilsaw® SHD77M

  • Overall Rating
    4
    7
    Rating 47 reviewsReviews_shortcut
  • Add to your toolboxQ_mark
  • Bottom Line

    Reviewers who would recommend this to a friend

    YES (7)
    VS
    NO (0)

skil tools 7-1/4" Magnesium Worm Drive Skilsaw® SHD77M

this is a magnesium worm drive from skil, it is 2lbs lighter then the original skil but it still is very powerful.  Framers, formers and contractors have relied on this saw for many years and it continues to be the best saw.

Specifications for skil tools 7-1/4" Magnesium Worm Drive Skilsaw® SHD77M

What do you think?

Share your experiences and opinions about this tool.

Reviews (7)

Star_4
skil tools 7-1/4" Magnesium Worm Drive Skilsaw® SHD77M Product Reviews
  • 5 Star
    (4)
  • 4 Star
    (2)
  • 3 Star
    (1)
  • 2 Star
    (0)
  • 1 Star
    (0)
  • Thumb_amir_shed_build_day_3_(18)
    FramingProJune 25, 20115

    IMO

    I have this saw, it is great. Although it is still fairly heavy at 14lbs it is still 2lbs lighter then the original skil. It is very powerful,it won't bog down in tough, wet material. The blade lock lever is helpful for changing blades. When you first start it is does not kick, or atleast i don't think it does.
    The handle is very good for cutting straight down,
    good saw, buy it
    (ski should be paying me for this :p)

    • Pros:
    • powerful
    • light for a wormy
    • easy blade change
    • ergonomically designed
    • Cons:
    • guard snag
    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 0
    • 1
    • Thumb_b4c8d383
      DirtywhiteboyJuly 30, 20115

      RED HOT!

      This saw jams, I have an old one that was made in the USA
      I now have 2 of these the new used is a 15amp from china, we see how it works tomorrow!

      • Pros:
      • yes this saw is for pro
      • Cons:
      • None
      • YES
      • I would recommend this to a friend
      • Was this Review Helpful?
      • 0
      • 0
      • Thumb_tx_flag
        SRConstructionAugust 02, 20114

        Pretty Great Saw

        I use this one on most of my jobs and love it! The motor in it seems to do pretty well!

        • YES
        • I would recommend this to a friend
        • Was this Review Helpful?
        • 0
        • 0
        • No-avatar-62
          Bhamblinover 6 years ago

          I have had my saw for over ten years and it still works great

      • No-avatar-62
        BhamblinJanuary 01, 20125

        I love my saw

        Has a ton of power hands down the best saw out there

        • YES
        • I would recommend this to a friend
        • Was this Review Helpful?
        • 0
        • 0
        • Thumb_winchester3av
          WinchesterJanuary 02, 20123

          A few weeks old.

          Seems to work fine, though only a few weeks old. I don't like the feel of it and the bevel adjustment sucks.

          I have replaced it with a Makita.

          • Pros:
          • Plenty of power
          • Cons:
          • Bevel Adjustment
          • Weight
          • Feel/Ergonoics
          • YES
          • I would recommend this to a friend
          • Was this Review Helpful?
          • 1
          • 0
          • No-avatar-62
            FriendJanuary 04, 20124

            good for some things

            strong saw. Good for cutting 2x and sheet goods. guard catches when mitering 1x

            • YES
            • I would recommend this to a friend
            • Was this Review Helpful?
            • 0
            • 0
            • Thumb_img_0177
              hestonrenoJanuary 08, 20125

              the best

              The first saw i ever used was the 77
              and every saw ive used since has been substandard
              the only complaint i have with the mag77 i own now
              is its not made in the USA
              this saw will cut as straight as your hand is steady
              with a decent blade not much pushing required
              Framing, Demo, Concrete forms, Sheathing, Decks, Fencing,Siding
              There is no substitute
              (in my opinion,of course)

              • Pros:
              • POWER
              • Bulletproof
              • Solid
              • Replacement parts
              • Weight
              • Cons:
              • NOT made in USA
              • YES
              • I would recommend this to a friend
              • Was this Review Helpful?
              • 0
              • 0
              • Thumb_small_100_1621
                ownerbuilderover 6 years ago

                In my framing career, I must have gone through a dozen of these. I currently own a Mag 7 1/4, a 6 1/2, and 2 5 1/2 Skil.

            Displaying 1–7 of 7

            Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

            I am a professional contractor
            I am a DIY Homeowner
            ContractorTalk is for
            PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

            At ContractorTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

            Redirecing in 10 seconds
            No Thanks
            terms of service

            Already Have an Account?