Hitachi 2inch 18-Gauge Finish Nailer NT50AE2

  • Overall Rating
    3
    13
    Rating 313 reviewsReviews_shortcut
  • Add to your toolboxQ_mark
  • Bottom Line

    Reviewers who would recommend this to a friend

    YES (9)
    VS
    NO (4)

Hitachi 2inch 18-Gauge Finish Nailer NT50AE2

  • Accepts5/8" up to 2" 18-Gauge fasteners
  • Selective Actuationallows the user to select bump fire or contact fire modes with the simple flip of a switch
  • At only 2.2 lbs, this finish nailer is lightweight & well-balanced making it easy to use all day long
  • Elastomer gripadds comfort and prevents slippage
  • Visual nail reload indicator, located on the magazine, alerts the user when nail quantities are low so that blank drives are avoided
  • Tool-less, easy to clear nosefor quick and simple nail extraction should a nail jam during use
  • Engineered with the safety behind the narrow nose piece and a short center heightallows for nail placement in hard to reach areas and corners
  • Depth of drive dialallows the user to easily adjust the drive depth for a professional finish
  • No-mar tip on the noseprotects the work piece from unintended markings
  • 360 Degree adjustable exhaust portkeeps dust, debris and oil off the finish project
  • Lightweight aluminum body and composite magazine provide a tool that reduces user fatigue

Specifications for Hitachi 2inch 18-Gauge Finish Nailer NT50AE2

What do you think?

Share your experiences and opinions about this tool.

Reviews (13)

Star_3
Hitachi 2inch 18-Gauge Finish Nailer NT50AE2 Product Reviews
  • 5 Star
    (3)
  • 4 Star
    (6)
  • 3 Star
    (0)
  • 2 Star
    (2)
  • 1 Star
    (2)
  • Thumb_34208f01
    DirtywhiteboyMay 03, 20114

    Good Gun

    Fine trim gun! I love mine, I,m a big fan of Hitachi guns!

    • Pros:
    • it still shoot
    • Cons:
    • None
    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 1
    • 1
    • Thumb_small_34208f01
      Dirtywhiteboyover 5 years ago

      I no longer like this gun and think It's a POS because the nail pusher clip laps up on the nails and causes a big jam up! It falls down to 0 stars and I am now looking to Hitachi for help and finding none!

  • Thumb_a
    blackbearMay 03, 20114

    top dog

    I have beat this gun for over two years and not one problem.

    • Pros:
    • None
    • Cons:
    • depth adjustment is a pain
    • YES
    • I would recommend this to a friend
    • Was this Review Helpful?
    • 0
    • 0
    • Thumb_3943ba2c
      Donohue ConstFebruary 25, 20125

      great little gun

      i got this when my bostich gave out, should of switched a lot sooner

      • YES
      • I would recommend this to a friend
      • Was this Review Helpful?
      • 0
      • 0
      • Thumb_100_1621
        ownerbuilderMarch 07, 20125

        Top Gun

        'Bullet Proof' for years. Can't do finish work without it.
        I use this gun to install corner bead for drywall

        • YES
        • I would recommend this to a friend
        • Was this Review Helpful?
        • 0
        • 0
        • No-avatar-62
          Gary HMarch 08, 20124

          Very light

          My lumber yard had them on sale for $35 each. I bought one them, because I like tool sales. Then got to use it and works great. I wish now I bought all 10 of them.

          • YES
          • I would recommend this to a friend
          • Was this Review Helpful?
          • 0
          • 0
          • Thumb_6c40e64c
            Mike TyrieDecember 18, 20122

            Not my favorite

            Jammed all the time but they do make it easy to fix with no screws to get to the plunger

            • NO
            • I would not recommend this to a friend
            • Was this Review Helpful?
            • 0
            • 0
            • No-avatar-62
              JackP23February 15, 20134

              Works great but....

              I had trouble with a certain brand of nail shooting into MDF.......might have been Bostich.
              Other than that.......good value.

              • YES
              • I would recommend this to a friend
              • Was this Review Helpful?
              • 0
              • 0
              • Thumb_avatar55270_1
                pinwheelFebruary 17, 20135

                Love mine

                I've had this gun for at least 2 years, never an issue. We only work with hardwoods like oak.

                • YES
                • I would recommend this to a friend
                • Was this Review Helpful?
                • 0
                • 0
                • Thumb_c1d71b91
                  Wood WorxFebruary 23, 20131

                  Nail jamming issues

                  I own two of these nailers and both are constantly jamming. I have tried different brand nails, but it is clearly and issue with the slide

                  • NO
                  • I would not recommend this to a friend
                  • Was this Review Helpful?
                  • 0
                  • 0
                  • Thumb_26007962
                    SprtmanJune 01, 20131

                    Same crap

                    I love most Hitachi guns but not this one. Jammed up on the first clip of nails. POS - do not by this gun.

                    • NO
                    • I would not recommend this to a friend
                    • Was this Review Helpful?
                    • 0
                    • 0
                    • No-avatar-62
                      Windwashabout 5 years ago

                      I've had it with mine and will be looking for something new this week. It keeps jamming and when I pull the slide back the clip of nails is always broken in half and doubled up.

                    • No-avatar-62
                      Big Johnsonover 1 year ago

                      Same here. No problems.

                    • Thumb_small_542435_296766617086286_687307429_n
                      Tom Strubleover 5 years ago

                      Iv'e had this gun for over 5 years,never had an issue with it no matter what brand of nails I shot though it

                    Show all Comments (3)
                  • Thumb_avatar1
                    gideondNovember 28, 20144

                    Good until it jams

                    Overall this has been a great gun with almost zero problems. When it does occasionally jam, it jams hard, requiring tools to carefully disassemble without doing damage to the gun. It's a great gun for the price but there are more reliable options.

                    • Pros:
                    • price
                    • performace
                    • Cons:
                    • jams are extremely bad when they happen
                    • YES
                    • I would recommend this to a friend
                    • Was this Review Helpful?
                    • 0
                    • 0
                    • Thumb_e347188e
                      Mark122December 02, 20144

                      not bad

                      have owned this gun for over a yr and given it a run for its money...keeps up. no complaints

                      • YES
                      • I would recommend this to a friend
                      • Was this Review Helpful?
                      • 0
                      • 0
                      • No-avatar-62
                        GaboyMay 18, 20152

                        Ok brad nailer

                        I got mine reconditioned all three of them. First one works fine but god forbid u loose the dang plastic tip can't shoot at extreme angles. The second one the nail clip James an when trying to get it free thing flew apart an lost the piece that slides with nail. The adjustable blower falls off an they don't sell that part..so box store theft of part is a must. I've had one for two years an have one broken an one still brand new in box...save the headache an get porter cable 2007 much better gun.....

                        • Pros:
                        • Small lightweight
                        • Cons:
                        • Dust cap falls off an sometimes doesn't shoot nails
                        • NO
                        • I would not recommend this to a friend
                        • Was this Review Helpful?
                        • 0
                        • 0
                        Displaying 1–13 of 13

                        Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

                        I am a professional contractor
                        I am a DIY Homeowner
                        ContractorTalk is for
                        PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

                        At ContractorTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

                        Redirecing in 10 seconds
                        No Thanks
                        terms of service

                        Already Have an Account?