Under-slab Plumbing / DIY

Old 05-04-2007, 02:06 PM   #1
Finally went Pro

Trade: General Contracting/Remodeling
Rewards Points: 75

Under-slab Plumbing / DIY

OK. I'm a remodeling contractor, and I have installed a couple of sump pumps for friends, but I do not do plumbing (except in my own house)... I hire qualified plumbers for that. Problem is, I can't seem to find one who wants to work. I'm remodeling my 1st floor 1/2 bath (on concrete slab), and am going to expand & add a shower. All I want is a plumber to bust thru the slab & add a shower drain. That's it. Unfortunately, I can't get anybody to even call me back, even with a "I'll price the job real high because I don't want to do it" price. Unbelievable. Anyway, looks like I'm going to have to do this myself. SO...

How difficult is it to tap a mainline under the slab? Special concerns? I don't want to break thru the slab, bust a pipe, and not be able to fix it... that would render ALL the plumbing in my house unusable, because this is the "exit" of all the plumbing in my house... the main stack.

Can anybody point me in the right direction/give me some tips here?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 05-04-2007, 02:18 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Residential General
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Under-slab Plumbing / DIY

I've never met a plumber that wants to bust up a slab. They don't even like to drill through wood all that much. If it isn't putting pipes together, they're not too interested.
My suggestion would be to bust up the slab yourself and get a plumber out to hook up the pipes.

Old 05-04-2007, 02:56 PM   #3
Finally went Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Same Old View Post