Plumbing Question

Old 12-10-2017, 06:03 PM   #1

Trade: Deck And Patio Installation
Rewards Points: 50

Plumbing Question

My streets the last street where they are converting from septic to sewage. I'm going to be remodeling my upstairs bathroom and looking to add a bathroom in my basement.

Right now the main goes out of my basement wall about 4 feet up from the ground. Would it be worth it to cut out part of the slab and bury the main and connect it to the city sewers since I'm looking to add a bathroom to my basement anyways? I'm a contractor/builder but I do light plumbing, I don't normally do huge projects like this but I'm more than capable. Also I have an excavator and any tools needed at my disposal to make it easier.

Any suggestions or input on what you would do if you were in my situation? I'm going to be living in this house for a long time so I really want to remodel it for what I want. If I weren't going to be staying here I wouldn't worry about the bathroom. I just figure since I would like to tie into the sewer line anyways and get away from septic this would be the way to do it since I wanted a full bath in the basement. Sorry if I'm not explaining everything perfectly or if I'm using the wrong terms/words to describe the plumbing. I haven't actually moved a main before like this only tied into them for remodels and moved water lines etc.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 12-11-2017, 12:48 AM   #2
Fire up the BBQ

Trade: GC
Rewards Points: 18

Re: Plumbing Question

sounds like you need a pump for the basement.

Advertisement

mrdavid567 (12-11-2017)
Old 12-11-2017, 08:52 AM   #3
Pro