Need To Find A Blockage ..

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2017, 10:08 PM   #1
Pro
 
Joe Wood's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: near San Diego
Posts: 274
Rewards Points: 352

Need To Find A Blockage ..


under a concrete slab. I know plumbers have scopes they can run down the line, but is there any way to pinpoint the blockage from above ground??
__________________
https://woodsshop.com/
Joe Wood is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 10-09-2017, 08:16 AM   #2
Pro
 
tjbnwi's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cedar Tucky, Indiana
Posts: 6,918
Rewards Points: 436

Re: Need To Find A Blockage ..


When they run the scope they can see the blockage and locate the end of the scope from above. They can give the exact location and depth before you have to break and dig.

Tom

Advertisement

tjbnwi is offline  
Old 10-09-2017, 08:23 AM   #3
Pro
 
KAP's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8,102
Rewards Points: 22,278

Re: Need To Find A Blockage ..


Sounds like a personal problem...

But there may be a solution...


KAP is offline  
   
 
Old 10-09-2017, 09:01 AM   #4
Pro
 
Joe Wood's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: near San Diego
Posts: 274
Rewards Points: 352

Re: Need To Find A Blockage ..


How do they find the location Tom, some sort of sensor picking up the scope underground?
__________________
https://woodsshop.com/
Joe Wood is offline  
Old 10-09-2017, 09:06 AM   #5
Pro
 
nickko's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling-cabinet maker
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: western pa
Posts: 307
Rewards Points: 651

Re: Need To Find A Blockage ..


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Wood View Post
How do they find the location Tom, some sort of sensor picking up the scope underground?
Yes. That is exactly how they do it and it is very accurate.

nicko
__________________
"Quality work for those who know the difference"
nickko is offline  
Old 10-09-2017, 03:10 PM   #6
Pro
 
tjbnwi's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cedar Tucky, Indiana
Posts: 6,918
Rewards Points: 436

Re: Need To Find A Blockage ..


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Wood View Post
How do they find the location Tom, some sort of sensor picking up the scope underground?
Nickko answered this, I second what he said. They'll get you within 1/8" horizontally and vertically.

Tom
tjbnwi is offline  
Old 10-09-2017, 04:28 PM   #7
Pro
 
Joe Wood's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: near San Diego
Posts: 274
Rewards Points: 352

Re: Need To Find A Blockage ..


OK tanks guys!

Advertisement

__________________
https://woodsshop.com/
Joe Wood is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to find a salesman ! ? mullinsandsons Online Leads Services 6 07-24-2015 05:02 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?