Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

Master's test Ky.

8K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  plumb.bob.down 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, I'm new to the site and I am a journeyman plumber thinking about taking my master plumbers test in the state of Kentucky. There is a multiple choice part and a commercial building piping diagram. Has anyone taken this type of test before? Besides basic pipe sizing and fixture units I don't know what else to study to prepare me for the diagram part. Any Ideas?

#2 ·
Don't know anything about Ky but your exam sounds similar to the one I took. The isometric is used to test your overall knowledge of the plumbing code as well as your level of understanding of plumbing systems and how they work. Mine did seem to focus on rough piping installation issues. It was also of a commercial single story structure. I would suggest that you:

1. Know drainage fixture unit values as they relate to drainage piping
as well as vent piping.

2. I would thoroughly understand venting in general, including types of venting that you may not use normally in the work that you do.

3. Know legal fitting types for a given application. The multiple choice section will most likely refer to this drawing. For example: "What is the proper fitting to be used at location C on the isometric ..." and then you will have a choice of 4.

In general I would read and re-read and re-read my code book. Whatever I did'nt understand I would approach the old salts that I worked with about, although you should'nt necessarily take their word for it (it's scary how many guys are out there who have been putting it in for years but really have very little idea how it works.) Also you can call your local code council and ask them for clarification of things you don't quite get.