I Want To Be A Plumber.

Old 04-29-2011, 12:50 AM   #1
Pro

Trade: Basement Finishing

I Want To Be A Plumber.

I'm at a point in my career in which I have recognized that I need to make some type of change. I would like to start working on a long term plan to improve the profitability of my business. I'm hoping to get some advice from a few guys that may have made a similar transition.

I have been in Remodeling for almost 10 years now. I have been finishing basements on my own for the last 4 years. Last year I became a licensed Master plumber due to the increased amount of plumbing I was involved in.

After 4 years I still enjoy what I do. However, I do not feel that my profit margins are where they should be. Over the last year the demand has grown to the point that I started to sub out more of the work which has allowed me to take on multiple basements. Looking back on the numbers they are just not where they need to be. For me, the best way to make a profit on basements has been to stay small and do as much of the work as possible. I am ok with this approach for now. I am still able to handle the physical demands of running a jack hammer or hanging drywall. I just don't know how much longer I want to keep up this pace.

I am curious to see if there are other general contractors that have shifted their focus from general remodeling projects to specifically dealing with plumbing.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 04-29-2011, 05:30 AM   #2
I'm a Mac

Trade: ICF Construction

Re: I Want To Be A Plumber.