Garage Slab 20' X 20' Edge Concerns

Old 03-27-2010, 10:02 PM   #1
New Guy

Trade: Framing contractor
Rewards Points: 10

Garage Slab 20' X 20' Edge Concerns

I am a carpenter by trade but have decided to build my own garage here in Ottawa. I will be using a 4" concrete slab on grade with 6" wide by 12" high perimeter wall to keep wood walls away from the ground. After digging down 2' of pure sand, I decided to stop, compact it and fill the hole with gravel. I plan on reinforcing the slab with 15M bars on 12" centers both ways and put two around the slab perimeter and one inside the perimeter wall. I will be building 10' high walls with 2X6 then put on the roof. There will be a 16' X 8' garage door for entry. I have never done any work with rebar or concrete before so don't know if this plan will be adequate? Should I thicken the slab around the edge or maybe the whole thing? Should I use more reinforcement or use it differently? It gets very cold here in winter (-30C) and hot in summer (+30C), should I use any expansion joints? Should I take special care at the opening of the garage?

The old garage was built around 1913 directly on the ground and held up until now. There was no bottom plate left and the stud ends were rotten. the whole thing sank at least 6 inches. I can't believe it lasted 100 years. I want the new garage to last even longer. Probably going to use pressure treated for bottom plate. The concrete is what worries me in this situation, don't want it to crack or crumble too quickly.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-27-2010, 10:17 PM   #2
SEMI RETIRED

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 4,392