Frost Protected Shallow Footings In NE IA

Old 05-20-2008, 12:06 AM   #1
Plumbermandan

Trade: Plumbing
Send a message via MSN to Plumbermandan

Frost Protected Shallow Footings In NE IA

As a contractor myself I realize that each area will produce it's own set of code compliance regulations...
That being said, I am finally able to begin construction on my Tim the TOOLMAN Taylor garage. Size will be 32 X 26 or 32 X 24, depending on my presentation to the administrative authority, to make a long story short, It is located in NE IA normal frost footing depth 42" (same as Fairbanks, AK) Have been looking into Frost protected shallow footings. This garage will have...Radiant in-floor heat as well as radiant snowmelt on the approach and an adjcent slab patio between the house and the garage and radiant snowmelt in a carport. Essentially 3 sides of of the exposed ground surface around the garage will be "Warm" in the winter.
I would like some WORST CASE SENARIOS AND some BEST CASE SENARIOS for using Frost Free Footings in an accessory building. This garage has a boiler that produces the HEAT for the IN-FLOOR as well as the SNOWMELT and the domestic HOT water used in the garage.
Domestic Hot includes a LAV and a H/C combination sillcock, I plan on installing a 1/2 bath W/C, Urinal, Lav.
In this area they are kind of behind the times regarding new building techniques, I would like to hear from others that have frost free footing experience, any tech data to add to my collection to present to the Powers above would be appreciated.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 05-20-2008, 01:00 AM   #2
I'm a Mac

Trade: ICF Construction