Advice For A Rookie - Concrete & Paving - Contractor Talk

Advice For A Rookie

Old 03-05-2018, 08:19 PM   #1

Trade: QEG construction and trading
Rewards Points: 6

Advice For A Rookie

Greetings. What advice would you give to a newbie looking to get into concrete?

A little background. I'm working as a commercial carpenter (Form) Prior to coming here in the US two years ago I studied civil eng. worked on our small GC business doing res. and light com., As of the moment on the process of obtaining all the licenses needed. I am planning on focusing on concrete (driveways, slabs & footing), Also little by little buying the right tools/equipment which would take a while for me.

My question to you guys is how did you started to do it on your own, build your presence did you do it business to business (sub con).

equipment ( dump trailer, skidsteer, excavator ,etc) did you guys rent at first?

Thankyou

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 03-20-2018, 07:57 PM   #2

Trade: Concrete

Re: Advice For A Rookie

Keep it simple. Buy only as you need with cash. Keep all liabilities low or nil to start. Over the next 10 years you will be ok. Newest and best is never the way to go.

Make sure you keep track of hours and costs per job. Adjust your rates or figure out ways to get better. The end.

Advertisement

Old 04-02-2018, 08:18 AM   #3
Pro

Trade: Concrete/Masonry
Rewards Points: 242

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmmace View Post
Keep it simple. Buy only as you need with cash.
I did this, and I would actually recommend against it for a few things.