Removing Old Insulation?

Old 04-26-2008, 12:09 AM   #1

Trade: Insulation
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Removing Old Insulation?

Hi, just found this site and I am greatful because I frequently run into situations where I could use advice. I have been insulating for myself for a few years from now, but today I had a first. I was asked if I could remove some old cellulose that was supposed to have gotten wet. Do yall know of the easiest way to do this, (short of buyin one of those vaccuums)? It is a large house, about 2000 square foot. They also want the sellulose to be replaced with blown fiberglass @ R-38. All of this was recommended by the power company. I know that R-38 is recommende for our area (Alabama). There is a young girl with asthma and the only reason that they want to install fiberglass is because they were told that the cellulose would bother her asthma. Is this true? I thought that is all settles and wouldn't be a bother on the ground floor in a few days, and if it were, it seems as if the fiberglass would be worse? . Thanks in advance!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 04-26-2008, 05:55 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: LI,NY designer, new homes, renovation work, concre
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Removing Old Insulation?

welcome to the site, there is no magic for removing insulation, as far as any type being a problem for a person with asthma, during the installation any type would be a problem, after insall is complete, if done properly, there should be no airborne contaminents.

Old 04-26-2008, 07:51 AM   #3
Pro

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 3,728