Cellulose Over Loose Fill Fiberglass

Old 02-28-2011, 12:58 PM   #1

Trade: Home performance / Log home repair/maintenance
Rewards Points: 25

Cellulose Over Loose Fill Fiberglass

I am just getting into the industry and have looked at several attics that have 2-4 inches of loose fill fiberglass. After air-sealing and other prep work, is it advisable to blow cellulose over the existing insulation.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 02-28-2011, 01:25 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Framing
Rewards Points: 1,014

Re: Cellulose Over Loose Fill Fiberglass

yes

The Following User Says Thank You to Framer53 For This Useful Post:
HomeSealed (03-07-2011)
Old 02-28-2011, 01:47 PM   #3
Sean

Trade: In Between Titles
Rewards Points: 2,022

Loose fill? You are fine with two caveats --- (as you mentioned) make sure you do the air-sealing work first (holes for wiring, plumbing, where the walls are, etc...) & no rodents or other critters have used it as an outhouse, home

As for batts - the answer is no
Old 03-02-2011, 10:11 AM   #4

Trade: Home energy retrofits
Rewards Points: 10

I would advise adding more loose-fill fiberglass rather than cellulose for several reasons. 1) Even though cellulose is a good insulator, because it is essentially ground up newspaper it has fire retardant chemicals added to it. Those chemicals can corrode wiring and will also be "washed" away over time as moisture collects on the insulation and then evaporates, leaving you with a fire hazard in the attic. 2) Cellulose is dusty and dirty compared to fiberglass and is much messier when its installed. You have to mist water as you install cellulose to keep the dust down...