Waterborne Cabinet Paint Questions

Old 12-24-2017, 02:00 PM   #1

Trade: electrician by trade, general contractor, cabinet maker
Rewards Points: 90
Wink

Waterborne Cabinet Paint Questions

Hello,

3rd generation cabinet maker here. Grew up in a family construction business. I picked up on the things I liked and got really good at them. Fine carpentry being one of them.

With all that said, I'm being forced to change from oil on on-site cabinet/built in finishing. I'm used to spraying oil based paints, and lacquers but as I stated, younger customers are really pushing me away from using them in their homes. A current customer was out of town when I painted one built in with oil. She didn't smell it so it was ok, but she doesn't want oil used while she is living there. And she wants the product to be as tough as the oil I used.

I can guarantee that the oil paint I use will be tough as nails and not mar but I cannot do the same for waterborne because I have very limited experience with the products.

Ive logged over 40 hours reading on this forum and the painttalk forum trying to decide which products to try first. Ive read good things about breakthrough, but then ive read that it changed and isn't as good. Ive read that isnsl-x is good but mars easily. Ive read that some really like the sw emerald and some hate it. Ive read about msa and about pi acrylic. Ive also read about the pi waterborne urethane.

Its not easy for me to acquire ben moore stuff. I can, but I have to drive a hot minute to get someone who sells it and knows it.

I use SW pretty much exclusively for my wall and trim paint. Service is good and its readily available being the reason behind that.

So, what do yall use. What have you used and didn't like, what have you used and wouldn't use again.

I apologize for the long post, but I wanted to try to get it all said asked and explained in one post.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and for any and all help.

Will