Square Foot Pricing For New Construction Commercial Painting?

Old 04-05-2009, 12:09 AM   #1
New Guy

Trade: Painting
Rewards Points: 10

Square Foot Pricing For New Construction Commercial Painting?

hello everyone. i am new to the site and ticked off i didn't find it earlier. i have been painting for 13 years and for the first ten years did only residential projects. in the last few years i have been focusing almost completely on commercial. most of my work lately has been commercial repaints. however, i just got a lead to start pricing out some new construction commercial work.

this is what i got going-- i am looking at a hospital in the midwest. i am being asked to paint all the drywall. this means walls only. the ceilings will be tiled. the trim will be factory finished wood. the baseboards will be rubber or carpet and do not require painting. i am required to put a primer coat down followed by two coats of paint. this place has 50,000 sq. ft. of wall. this seems great because it is a big job. however, i am trying to be competitive because the hospital will be taking multiple bids.

what i need help with is determining an accurate price. what would fellow painters charge per sq. ft. on a project like this? it is all spray and backroll work. any input would be greatly appreciated. thanks!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 04-05-2009, 12:11 AM   #2
Professional Instigator

Trade: Design Build Remodeling Contractor DC MD
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Square Foot Pricing For New Construction Commercial Painting?

since its 1am my time.

In my time zone its three fifty

Old 04-05-2009, 12:22 AM   #3
New Guy

Quote: