Rolling Paint Lines

Old 08-23-2008, 06:47 AM   #1
Pro

Trade: Flooring, wall covering, Handy-man
Rewards Points: 260

Rolling Paint Lines

No mater what I try I always seam to get lines when I roll, I don't claim to be a painter by profession but on occasion some one does ask me to change a color of a roll of fix some drywall, repaint a door.

Whats the trick

I usually use Purdy rollers 3/4"

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 08-23-2008, 07:21 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: EXTERIORS
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Rolling Paint Lines

sounds like your painting with the wrong type of sleeve for whatever gloss paint you are using.

Old 08-23-2008, 10:51 AM   #3

Trade: Home Painter & Plaster
Rewards Points: 10

3/4" is too long, try 5/8" and keep the edge wet. As posted, perhaps a change of paint brand might help.
Old 08-23-2008, 10:55 AM   #4
General Contractor

Trade: Construction Management
Rewards Points: 500

They are called RAILROAD TRAX, or holidays.
Are you under any stress?
Dont press so hard in the wall.
Old 08-23-2008, 06:53 PM   #5
...jammin

Trade: Rock Disciple
Rewards Points: 2,000

3 biggest causes of roller lines

1) Poor quality paint
2) Poor quality roller sleeves
3) Poor technique

#1 Stop using that Behr crap...or anything else like Glidden, American Tradition, Dutch Boy, etc....those cheap azz homies are providing
*If you are already using PREMIUM (they all make cheap sht too) lines of paint from BM, SW, P, then refer to #s 2 & 3

#2 Use Purdy White Doves
There are other good ones, but the WDs are available anywhere and are premium so it's a good way to eliminate sleeve quality from your troubleshooting