Primer / Sealer VS Flat Paint

Old 04-24-2009, 11:47 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: Drywall, Modulars, Remodeling
Rewards Points: 150

Primer / Sealer VS Flat Paint

Hey guys, I'm a drywall guy by trade and I was wondering... Whats the difference between a flat paint and a primer sealer like killz. I've noticed doing many repairs that when shooting texture, walls with flat paint will absorb the moisture but walls with semi-gloss the glossy paint acts sort of like a vapor barrier, meaning the wall will not absorb the moisture anywhere near as fast. So even though killz is usually flat does it act like more of a semi gloss. The reason I'm asking is because when removing popcorn or rocking a garage with no insulation semi-gloss seems to be king and I'm wondering if a killz type product is just as good. I hope what I'm asking is clear and thanks a lot. Let me know if i need to elaborate more.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 04-25-2009, 02:48 AM   #2
Smart phone? Scan me!

Trade: Painting/Framing/Drywall
Rewards Points: 1,000

Re: Primer / Sealer VS Flat Paint

I don't know what you are asking specifically. You start out asking about flat and speak about it absorbing water quicker than any of the other finishes, then you move into talking about vapor barriers and kilz and a garage with no insulation. What do you want to know exactly? You got a job painting a garage and want to know what paint to use?

Old 04-25-2009, 01:59 PM   #3
Pro