Hvlp Vs. Airless For Spraying Trim - Painting & Finish Work - Contractor Talk

Hvlp Vs. Airless For Spraying Trim

Old 08-23-2006, 07:21 AM   #1
Pro

Trade: painting
Rewards Points: 250

Hvlp Vs. Airless For Spraying Trim

I'm getting ready to spray a new house out. (trim). I am fairly new to spraying trim. I've done quite a bit of spraying doors and trim on remodels. However, i am getting ready to spray all trim in a 3500 sq. ft house. I've always used a .11 tip and had good results. I found a guy selling a paint business and he has a hvlp. Not sure on model yet. Going to see it tonight. He want 300 bucks for it. My question is, does it do that much better of a job than an airless. I've had pretty good luck with the airless. One other question. When you spray your trim do you guys just blow it on the wall, then come back and re- prime the spots you got on wall before putting your top coats on the wall? So many questions. I'm a newbie to the site. Thanks guys

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 08-23-2006, 07:40 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: Paint

Re: Hvlp Vs. Airless For Spraying Trim

When we did new homes a long time ago (12 yrs or mre) we did the trim with airless, just the way you are talking about.

I love HVLP's, but not for what you are talking about. HVLP's are really only good for special times and things, like those louvred interior shutters that move up and down.

You will lose a LOT of time if you try to switch from an airless to HVLP for new work trim. IMHO, you WON'T be happy.