How Do I Charge.......

Old 02-09-2009, 07:10 PM   #1

Trade: painter
Rewards Points: 10

How Do I Charge.......

Hello, i am sorry in advanced if there is a similar thread already started. I am starting a new business right now and am very confused on what to charge. I have been doing this for the past 7 years but i have always had the help of my husband. I no longer have his help and want to venture on my own. My husband was the one that always did the bidding on the jobs and even then, we did not make very much money. The last few months that i have been doing this on my own I have been blind bidding. I just look at what I'm doing and think " how long is this going to take me?" Well now that I am starting a 'real' business, I want a definite way for doing a bid. I know a couple of paint contractors and I have asked them what they charge and they have said about $1 a SF. I have heard that from a few different paint contractors, then today I talked to another one, that I know makes some really good money, say that he only charges .40 a SF. now to me that doesn't sound high enough. To begin with I am going to be concentrating on apartment buildings. It would be much appreciated if I can get som suggestions and feedback on how to charge or how much to charge, by the square foot for walls, ceilings and trim. Thank you so much in advance.
The Following User Says Thank You to crystaldwn78 For This Useful Post:
frankthepainter (02-12-2009)

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 02-09-2009, 07:13 PM   #2
Professional Instigator

Trade: Design Build Remodeling Contractor DC MD
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: How Do I Charge.......