AFCI Breakers

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2016, 03:24 AM   #1
Registered User
 
Finelli, A's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Salem, NY
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 30

AFCI Breakers


The new code sounds like these breakers are basically required for the entire house now is that correct? I'm working on a house right now, brand new and I'm finishing the basement before they move in, and there are some in the panel box but not every circuit, so I'm wondering if I need to use them for the two runs of receptacles I'm running...thanks for the clarification

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Finelli, A is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-29-2016, 08:21 AM   #2
Pro
 
Randy Bush's Avatar
 
Trade: Exterior Remodeling
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 4,313
Rewards Points: 3,404

Re: AFCI Breakers


Sounds like a question you need to be asking your electrician.

Advertisement

Randy Bush is offline  
Old 12-29-2016, 08:28 AM   #3
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,111
Rewards Points: 9,362

Re: AFCI Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Bush View Post
Sounds like a question you need to be asking your electrician.
More to the point... the electrician is the one who should know and be doing this.

__________________
Chuck Norris can start a fire by rubbing two ice cubes together.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
Randy Bush (12-29-2016)
   
 
Old 12-29-2016, 08:31 AM   #4
Pro
 
Randy Bush's Avatar
 
Trade: Exterior Remodeling
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 4,313
Rewards Points: 3,404

Re: AFCI Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
More to the point... the electrician is the one who should know and be doing this.

Well yes what I meant , just did not say.
Randy Bush is offline  
Old 12-29-2016, 10:14 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Finelli, A's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Salem, NY
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 30

Re: AFCI Breakers


It's not rocket science fellas, just asking a question on the new code, that's what this forum is for, if you don't have an answer to the question keep your opinions to your self.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Finelli, A is offline  
Old 12-29-2016, 12:20 PM   #6
Pro
 
Xtrememtnbiker's Avatar
 
Trade: General Remodeling
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,238
Rewards Points: 832

Re: AFCI Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Finelli, A View Post
It's not rocket science fellas, just asking a question on the new code, that's what this forum is for, if you don't have an answer to the question keep your opinions to your self.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk


Its not a "new code" and this forum is for professional contractors helping each other. No offense, but you don't sound like an electrician and the electricians on here aren't likely to advise you on a public forum what to do.

There is a sister site called DIY chat room that would be a better place to ask your question.

http://www.diychatroom.com/#/?_k=x7zsjb
Xtrememtnbiker is offline  
Old 12-29-2016, 12:37 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Finelli, A's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Salem, NY
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 30

Re: AFCI Breakers


I'm not an electrician, I'm a carpenter who is in the middle of finishing a basement. I ask because the last apartment remodel I finished in September, the electrician put in a new service and there were no arch fault breakers and the electrical inspector passed the box, but I know shortly after that the new NEC code came out along with the international building code and as I read it I didn't notice it was from 2014. I was just looking for clarification. I don't appreciate it when people take the opportunity to insult me for asking a question I have helped plenty of plummets, electrician, hvac, sheet rockers with carpentry/building questions, we're all contractors.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Finelli, A is offline  
Old 12-29-2016, 12:55 PM   #8
Capra aegagrus

 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 21,048
Rewards Points: 2,711

Re: AFCI Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtrememtnbiker View Post
No offense, but you don't sound like an electrician and the electricians on here aren't likely to advise you on a public forum what to do.
No offense, but electricians and plumbers tend to be a bit snotty about sharing info on their trades compared to other specialists.

New York state, like PA, does not require licensing to do electrical work. It's very common for GCs to do that sort of thing in-house.

Finelli, even under the '08 NEC, most likely your inspector is going to want AFCIs. They're pretty much required in all "living spaces".
Tinstaafl is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tinstaafl For This Useful Post:
Finelli, A (12-29-2016), Xtrememtnbiker (12-29-2016)
Old 12-29-2016, 01:44 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Finelli, A's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Salem, NY
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 30

Re: AFCI Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinstaafl View Post
No offense, but electricians and plumbers tend to be a bit snotty about sharing info on their trades compared to other specialists.

New York state, like PA, does not require licensing to do electrical work. It's very common for GCs to do that sort of thing in-house.

Finelli, even under the '08 NEC, most likely your inspector is going to want AFCIs. They're pretty much required in all "living spaces".
Thank you sir, I appreciate it !!

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Finelli, A is offline  
Old 12-29-2016, 02:11 PM   #10
Pro
 
Xtrememtnbiker's Avatar
 
Trade: General Remodeling
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,238
Rewards Points: 832

Re: AFCI Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinstaafl View Post
No offense, but electricians and plumbers tend to be a bit snotty about sharing info on their trades compared to other specialists.

New York state, like PA, does not require licensing to do electrical work. It's very common for GCs to do that sort of thing in-house.

Finelli, even under the '08 NEC, most likely your inspector is going to want AFCIs. They're pretty much required in all "living spaces".
I'm aware of that. It's why I said what I did regarding them not being likely to share their knowledge.

I didn't know that New York doesn't require having an electrical license. That seems odd to say the least...
Xtrememtnbiker is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Xtrememtnbiker For This Useful Post:
Tinstaafl (12-29-2016)
Old 12-29-2016, 02:14 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Finelli, A's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Salem, NY
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 30

Re: AFCI Breakers


A license is required in certain counties around albany and south, my business is located north of there.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Finelli, A is offline  
Old 12-29-2016, 02:26 PM   #12
Pro
 
XJCraver's Avatar
 
Trade: Building Official
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 106

Re: AFCI Breakers


IL doesn't require any State-wide licensing either. Some municipalities do. It gets interesting working from town to town.

Finelli, A - NFPA has all their codes available to view for free on their website; go here:

http://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-standa...es/free-access

The '14 NEC requires afci's almost everywhere in a dwelling unit.
XJCraver is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to XJCraver For This Useful Post:
Finelli, A (12-29-2016)
Old 12-29-2016, 04:45 PM   #13
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,111
Rewards Points: 9,362

Re: AFCI Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Finelli, A View Post
....... I was just looking for clarification. I don't appreciate it when people take the opportunity to insult me for asking a question I have helped plenty of plummets, electrician, hvac, sheet rockers with carpentry/building questions, we're all contractors.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
It's not a black or white issue. There is no "Yes, all circuits are required to be AFCI'd" or "No, you don't need to use them" answer.

Your original question is quite ambiguous when you refer to 'new houses' yet you're finishing off a basement. If the basement has already been wired to Code, and it didn't require AFCIs back when that was done, and the current wiring will pass as it is, then no, you won't need AFCIs.

But if you're going to start running more rope, then maybe you do. A lot depends on your AHJ (which is who would be best to ask about this).

If you want one single, one-size-fits-all answer: Depends.
__________________
Chuck Norris can start a fire by rubbing two ice cubes together.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
SLSTech (12-30-2016)
Old 12-29-2016, 04:51 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Finelli, A's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Salem, NY
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 30

Re: AFCI Breakers


My question spelled out exactly what the situation was but I've got my answer already from those not looking to stroke their ego, have a nice day.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Finelli, A is offline  
Old 12-29-2016, 06:27 PM   #15
Pro
 
Framer53's Avatar
 
Trade: Handyman
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Utica,NY
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 242

Re: AFCI Breakers


Before everyone gets bent out of shape because we have no statewide licensing laws for any part of construction, in the electrical area before the power company is allowed to turn the power on we must have an independent inspection.
Framer53 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Framer53 For This Useful Post:
Finelli, A (12-29-2016)
Old 12-29-2016, 07:01 PM   #16
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,111
Rewards Points: 9,362

Re: AFCI Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Finelli, A View Post
My question spelled out exactly what the situation was .........

Yes, ................... after 2 posts.
__________________
Chuck Norris can start a fire by rubbing two ice cubes together.
480sparky is online now  
Old 12-29-2016, 07:40 PM   #17
Registered User
 
Finelli, A's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Salem, NY
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 30

Re: AFCI Breakers


What ever bud lol , thanks for the help fellas I appreciate it

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Advertisement

Finelli, A is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with square d homeline fuse panel box and the new afci breakers Tweed11 Electrical 10 11-18-2013 11:01 PM
Inspector says breakers gotta be replaced? Bigb142 Electrical 4 12-19-2011 07:46 PM
AFCI Protection porject in class electrichelper NEC Discussion 2 07-14-2009 06:31 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?