Sealing Grout

Old 01-09-2006, 09:10 PM   #1
General Contractor

Trade: Class "A" Contractor with "BLD" Classification
Rewards Points: 75

Sealing Grout

What's everyones opinion about sealing grout. Should it be done?

Last edited by Cole; 04-04-2006 at 11:18 PM. Reason: Moved to Ceramic & Stone Tile

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 01-09-2006, 09:19 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Home Improvement
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Sealing Grout

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPV123

That is what they make it for.

Bob

Old 01-09-2006, 10:42 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: Whatever needs to be made or repaired
Rewards Points: 8,900

I'm no expert and have only done 3 tile jobs. The last one was burgundy tile butted up against an existing grey tile. The grout on the grey tile had not been sealed and basically was the same color as the tile...dirty grey.
Seal it...a couple of times.
Old 01-10-2006, 06:26 PM   #4
Pro

Trade: Residential Contractor
Rewards Points: 2,000

It needs to be resealed every few years too, job security but proper too.

Albert Einstein
Old 01-10-2006, 07:17 PM   #5
Pro

Trade: Bathroom Remodeling

I didn't know it was an option?
Old 01-10-2006, 07:55 PM   #6
General Contractor

Is it considered part of the install? I was always told "you should seal the grout" But i never noticed a tile guy doing it as part of the install.
Old 01-10-2006, 09:11 PM   #7
Pro

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 500

I never include grout sealer as part of the install, and I don't know anyone in my area that does.
Old 01-11-2006, 01:40 AM   #8
Pro