First Time Schluter System Use.

Old 01-30-2012, 11:19 AM   #1

Trade: Paint and Floors
Rewards Points: 10

First Time Schluter System Use.

Hey everyone,

Glad to have stumbled on to this site, I have been setting tile floors for a few years with handful of back splashes and commercial bathroom walls each year. Most was commercial, but now that I have started my own business been getting calls about showers. I have lost some bids because my price is higher due to that I have to sub out the shower pan waterproofing. My tile distributor has sold me a 48'' X 48'' shower kit, but I'm not quite sold on it.

Going to be installing it in my bath, see how that goes before I charge a customer. It is a total gut on the second floor and on OSB. Been reading through the post and see that there are some controversy with the system. I guess I have a few questions about what the handbook says and would like to hear first hand experiences from people who have used it.
1. Modified or un-modified over osb, handbook says non, but I have 3/4 OSB Tru-flor and this doesn't seem right to me.

2. The wall will have a few nooks for shampoo shelves and there is a glass block window in the stall, I have always used a liquid membrane (mapei aqua defense or redguard) over cbu to waterproof this. Can a liquid membrane be used with the kerdi. I was thinking kerdi the walls and use the liquid in the voids with the liquid overlapping the kerdi, thinking at least 2''.

3. Or could set the pan and drain, kerdiband the inside corner and kerdi the pan, kerdi fix the top of the ban, and then mapei hpg for rest of the shower.