Obtaining A C-54 Ceramic Tile License For California

Old 09-11-2007, 09:17 PM   #1

Trade: Tile
Rewards Points: 10

Obtaining A C-54 Ceramic Tile License For California

Any help would be great appreciated

OK. I have been installing tile for about 10 yrs if not more. I started with my uncle and when he moved to the east coast about 8 yrs ago I continued as a side business. Ive been working mainly off of referalls and mainly on the weekends because I have a full time job. Ive had 5 jobs this year and its mainly because I cant advertise because I dont have a license. Here is my delema. I want nothing more to start the process of getting my license but as I read the rules for california it looks like Im stuck. I dont have a contractor that I know that can complete the work certificate and Ive never worked for anyone but myself so how can I show proof of work? Can I send the state contractors board referrals and pictures of the work Ive completed? Any suggestions?

Thanks

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 09-11-2007, 10:19 PM   #2
General Contractor

Trade: General Contracting and Painting
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Obtaining A C-54 Ceramic Tile License For California

Here you go direct from the CSLB website. you can find it here http://www.cslb.ca.gov/applicants/blueprint.asp

Experience Requirements
7. What kind of experience is required for a contractor's license?