Starting An Excavating Company? - Excavation & Site Work - Contractor Talk

Starting An Excavating Company?

Old 05-06-2011, 10:54 PM   #1

Trade: Excavating/Landscaping
Rewards Points: 20

Starting An Excavating Company?

Hey guys, I'm new to the forum but I'm not new to machinery. My dad owns a small 3-5 man excavating company for the past 15 years. I've been running machines for the company for about 5 years.

I'm young (just about 21 and still living at home so I don't have many bills to worry about) and completely baffled by where to start. I no longer talk to my father due to family reasons and prefer not to get into that. I have been left alone with nothing but a set of septic plans many times and am no stranger to them. Obviously I will not know where to start with bids but that's the least of my worries - I can always get small jobs from my older brother (who owns a landscaping company and turns down small excavating jobs that he doesn't want to do).

I'm interested in starting a very small excavating company with the intention of expanding if given the opportunity. I have $9,000 in my savings account and a thousand or so in my checkings. I'm looking to start purchasing some stuff within reason; my uncle has talked to me about borrowing money to do this if I need extra funding but I'd prefer not to borrow anything. I'm currently studying to get my CDL for the local DPW anyway.

As far as business I will be able to get some starter jobs from my brother's company but what do I want to purchase as far as equipment goes? I've been looking for a mason dump (actually going to go look at a 1995 K3500 mason dump tomorrow; can get a heck of a deal on it if it isn't rotted). A family friend has a small 9-10,000 lb excavator from the mid-late 90's he's willing to sell me for 8 grand. I can convince big brother to let me borrow a dump trailer (along with any other tools I don't have) to transport such a machine until I get money to buy a trailer.