Interested In Starting Up My Own Mini Excavator/ Landscaping Company

Old 01-15-2012, 12:30 AM   #1

Trade: heavy duty mechanics
Rewards Points: 10

Interested In Starting Up My Own Mini Excavator/ Landscaping Company

Hello,

My name is James and I am new to this site. I am interested in starting a part-time mini excavator/landscaping buisness and would like some adivice.

First off I have never ran a buisness, estimated quotes or anything alone those lines.

I worked for a landscape construction company for just under two years, doing paving stone installs, Allan block retaining walls, sod installs and ran a skid steer and sometimes mini excavator. so i am by no means an expert but I have a good idea what I am doing.

for the last few years i have been working as a heavy duty mechanic and enjoy it but would like to go into business for myself and feel mechanics isnt what i want to be doing in the long run.

basically I would like to take out a small loan and see what I can do. buy a used mini excavator and skid steer, get all the licenses I need and do some advertising.

I currently work afternoon shift as a mechanic and would like to keep doing that until my business is established.

I would like to concentrate on working smaller residential jobs until I get some more experience so I dont get in over my head. I want to do paving stone driveways, walkways, patios, install ponds, sod ect.

my first job might be prepping a fairly level lot for my girlfriends father subdivision and building a house.

what is the ideal size excavator for the work I will be doing?

any suggestions on how to accurately quote jobs would be great?

what is the average charge per house for mini excavator work?

thanks!