Bobcat Work

Old 03-12-2008, 05:59 PM   #1

Trade: Building & Construction
Rewards Points: 10

Bobcat Work

I have been entertaining the idea for some time in getting into the site work trade. I want to start it off by providing bobcat services in my geographically areas. Well I have had some experience(operator) in this trade mainly because of my brother. He was into this business a couple of years ago ( later sold it ) so pretty much when it comes to bobcat work its priced by the HR. or per completion of job.

But my main obstacle is where I'm located is one of the places, if not the place, were the housing slump has hit hardest. Not so much construction going on, we are basically in a halt. In conclusion, is hard to get work.

Since many of you are in this industry which type of contractors usually are more in need of bobcat services? Is it better to price by the HR. (like most) or per completion? Any other inputs are much appreciated!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-12-2008, 06:17 PM   #2
Vagitarian

Trade: site and utility contractor
Rewards Points: 2,062
Send a message via AIM to rino1494

Re: Bobcat Work

Skid steer services are mainly needed by homeowners who need some driveway stone spread or some small grading done. Pricing by the job is where you make your most money, if you bid it right. You might wanna start off by the hour till you get an idea of how long things take. Set a minimum like 3 or 4 hrs and charge for moblization. Good luck to you.

Uncle Sam wants YOU....to speak ENGLISH
Old 03-12-2008, 08:24 PM   #3
Contractor

Trade: Excavation, Foundation, Concrete
Rewards Points: 2,590

Welcome to the site!