Honeywell CT87K Issues

Old 10-12-2009, 10:00 AM   #1
Doer of Many Things!!!

Trade: Paint and Floor Covering Retailer
Rewards Points: 851

Honeywell CT87K Issues

I'm not a heating and air guy by trade but this was pretty simple swap out. I took an old Lennox thermostat out for my grandmother and put this Honeywell CT87K model in that she got from Lowes.

I've mounted it, leveled it and made the two wire connections (red and white) and it operates the furnace fine. She has a Ruud High Efficiency Oil/Forced Air system. However I'm having to turn the thermostat up to about 76 to get it to kick on and warm up to the targeted 68 mark she's looking for. I've set the switches on the back for high efficiency air per the manual. I've tried setting them back to normal forced air settings with no luck as well. Am I missing something or do I have a faulty thermostat?

Any input is appreciated. I'm a floor and paint guy so this isn't really my department but I never had an issue like this with the old T87 model that still had a mercury switch.

Thanks.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 10-12-2009, 10:25 AM   #2
Steve

Trade: Remodeling and Custom Cabinets
Rewards Points: 254

Re: Honeywell CT87K Issues

Does the new Tstat read 68 as the current room temp? The unit will only turn on if it is really cooler then it thinks it is. I have changed a lot of old units out in which the old mechanical thermometer was way off.

Old 10-12-2009, 10:41 AM   #3
Doer of Many Things!!!