Goodman HP Start Up Issue - HVAC - Contractor Talk

Goodman HP Start Up Issue

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2015, 01:21 PM   #1
Registered User
 
OLD's Avatar
 
Trade: refrigeration
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SQUAW VALLEY, CA
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8

Goodman HP Start Up Issue


5 ton goodman heat pump split system w/ matching AH, 1 phase, r-410a
My neighbor bought two 5 ton split systems and asked me to install.

I connected the line sets, pressure tested, evacuated, added additional charge to line sets ( on liquid side only) according to mfg reccomendations, opened service valves, energized and allowed crankcase heaters to operate for three days before start-up.
ON startup the low and high side pressures were same as static.
I checked the solenoid on the reversing valve and it does click when energized. There is voltage to the rv sol valve in cooling mode.
I thought it might be the floating seal in top of the scroll comp. so I recovered the refrig , pulled system into vac and then recharged the liquid side with only about 5 lbs of refrig.
Stil have equal pressures when system is started in cooling mode.

I don't normally install or work on residential equip and have little experience with heat pumps.

any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
OLD is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 01-23-2015, 05:37 AM   #2
Pro
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,410
Rewards Points: 1,126

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


Is/are the compressors actually running.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
flashheatingand (01-23-2015)
Old 01-23-2015, 01:45 PM   #3
Registered User
 
OLD's Avatar
 
Trade: refrigeration
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SQUAW VALLEY, CA
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


compressors do run, pull about 10.5 amps
OLD is offline  
   
 
Old 01-23-2015, 05:06 PM   #4
Pro
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,410
Rewards Points: 1,126

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


If a scroll is running backwards. it makes a real loud ruckus. So if no loud Ruckus, its not running backwards.

Check that RV's haven't been replaced already. Possible they were replaced and over heated.
beenthere is offline  
Old 01-23-2015, 07:08 PM   #5
Pro
 
flashheatingand's Avatar
 
Trade: H.v.a.c.
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boise, Id
Posts: 3,900
Rewards Points: 3,492

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


Perhaps a silly question. But, you did make sure that both guage valves were closed? It's been known to happen.
__________________
http://www.37flash.com/
flashheatingand is offline  
Old 01-23-2015, 07:53 PM   #6
Registered User
 
OLD's Avatar
 
Trade: refrigeration
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SQUAW VALLEY, CA
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


yes, both gages are closed.
I removed C.U. fan today and checked temps at RV.
106f at comp discharge, about the same at common suction of RV that is connected to accumulator and then to suction of comp, about 65 at suction line coming from inside evap coil. the RV coil does have 27v, and the coil is energized as verified by placing a screwdriver next to the coil.
I am pretty sure I have isolated the problem.
The local goodman wholesaler is bringing in a new REV under warranty.

What do you think??
OLD is offline  
Old 01-23-2015, 09:15 PM   #7
Pro
 
flashheatingand's Avatar
 
Trade: H.v.a.c.
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boise, Id
Posts: 3,900
Rewards Points: 3,492

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


Gotta do something. Be careful not to overheat the rv when replacing. I "re-plumbed" the botom half piping so as to braze the couplings away from the valve, and brazed the tight stuff outside of the h/p.

I think I had overheated the stuff before, and there is a small tube, that breaks off easily. I think it was due to overheating, afterall.
__________________
http://www.37flash.com/
flashheatingand is offline  
Old 01-24-2015, 12:29 AM   #8
Pro
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,410
Rewards Points: 1,126

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by flashheatingand View Post
Perhaps a silly question. But, you did make sure that both guage valves were closed? It's been known to happen.
LOL. I've done that a time or 2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flashheatingand View Post
Gotta do something. Be careful not to overheat the rv when replacing. I "re-plumbed" the botom half piping so as to braze the couplings away from the valve, and brazed the tight stuff outside of the h/p.

I think I had overheated the stuff before, and there is a small tube, that breaks off easily. I think it was due to overheating, afterall.
Yeah, the pilot line provides the high pressure that pushes the cylinder over can get brittle from too much heat.
beenthere is offline  
Old 01-24-2015, 10:29 AM   #9
Pro
 
flashheatingand's Avatar
 
Trade: H.v.a.c.
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boise, Id
Posts: 3,900
Rewards Points: 3,492

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


Everything was fine, then about a year later, no heat/cool, too find the pilot tube loose
__________________
http://www.37flash.com/
flashheatingand is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 08:59 PM   #10
Registered User
 
OLD's Avatar
 
Trade: refrigeration
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SQUAW VALLEY, CA
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


I replaced the RV on one unit. leak checked, evaced and performed rate of rise, All OK. Charged system on liquid side to Mfg specs.
Performed start-up in heat mode.
the true suction pressure was about 105 and steady. the High side pressure on the liquid line (coming back from inside coil) started about 150 and continued to rise to 500. Outside temp= 57f. t-stat set point= 75. starting inside temp at return about 60f.

Question is: If air flow is correct and all system components are working properly, is 500 psig too high? More general Q is: what would be expected high side pressure with outdoor at 57f and indoor return temp at say 74 f, just before t-stat would shut off?

I know you will all want more measurements and readings. But, a better understanding of expected pressures in heat mode would give me a better starting point to understand the heat pump w/r-410a systems.

thanks in advance for your replies
OLD is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 09:19 PM   #11
Pro
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,410
Rewards Points: 1,126

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


Your about 50 PSIG higher then I would normally expect for a 60 Indoor temp.
beenthere is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 07:42 AM   #12
Member
 
fitter's Avatar
 
Trade: hvac
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Central Ma.
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 33

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


There should be a charging chart attached to the c.u. panel.
fitter is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 09:15 AM   #13
Pro
 
flashheatingand's Avatar
 
Trade: H.v.a.c.
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boise, Id
Posts: 3,900
Rewards Points: 3,492

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


Did you weigh in the charge? Factory charge, which you probably know is for 15ft of lineset, and .4 ounces per ft. after.
__________________
http://www.37flash.com/
flashheatingand is offline  
Old 05-19-2016, 11:50 PM   #14
Registered User
 
JT1990's Avatar
 
Trade: c20-c38 HVACR
Join Date: May 2016
Location: nor cal
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 12

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


ive had a similar situtation when i first got in the trade.
split 3 ton.
replaced the CU but left the AH.
brazed in the line set , the service ports on the CU ( allen head wrench type ) were front seated all the way, and we assumed that stood for open.
long story short, charged it with 22, ran and the comp sounded okay, but nothings working, pressures same. finally we realized oh crap the valves man.
lol and that comp is running fine and chippy.
JT1990 is offline  
Old 07-27-2016, 12:53 AM   #15
New Guy
 
texarkanahvac's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 54

Re: Goodman HP Start Up Issue


Check the valves! They sneak up on you

Advertisement

texarkanahvac is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"It wont start boss" digdeep516 Tools & Equipment 23 09-06-2009 01:14 AM
How do I start a LLC? redlight Business 7 05-09-2009 08:11 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?