Gas Furnace Overheats - Fan Does Start

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-27-2005, 06:32 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Pauly's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Gas Furnace Overheats - Fan Does Start


Hi Everybody,
I'm a Carpenter by Trade, so I'll have to leave this one up to the HVAC experts :-).

A 10-year old York forced-air gas furnace has overheated in my home, causing the system to shutdown (fortunately). The overheating is due to a fan that won't start (FAN switch thermostat turned on does not cause fan to run, nor does a heating cycle). Here's what happens:

Heating cycle:

1) furnace ventilation fan starts and glow-plug glows
2) after 10 seconds, gas is sent to glow-plug causing ignition.
3) after another few seconds, hear a click, (fan should cycle on), but fan does NOT start.
4) Gas fire remains at full-blast, until unit heats very hot, then cyclces off due to heat sensor safety valve.

Here's what was tested:

1) The Motor is fine - I removed it, and tested ok at an HVAC shop ..it runs ok!
2) Motor's capacitor was "weak", and that was replaced.
3) All the limit switches (there are 5) tested good...and they are all working properly - that is...each circuit is closed (normal) vs. open (overheat) condition.

But the problem continues!

Guy at HVAC shop thinks Integrated circuit board is on the fritz, but I have no clue. I could replace it, but it's not the original, but rather a newer, comptable product by the original manufacturer.

What would you do?
Pauly is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   
 

Old 11-27-2005, 07:28 PM   #2
The Doctor is In!
 
HVAC Doc's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC owner
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 227
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Gas Furnace Overheats - Fan Does Start


My guess would be with him. Many circuit boards now days have the fan relays built into them (rather than a separate relay). And since they have "upgraded" their control boards, this or something else could have been a common failure prompting them to go this route.

HVAC Doc is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 12:49 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Pauly's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Gas Furnace Overheats - Fan Does Start


HVAC Doc -- Thank you for the quick reply. I agree with your assessment, and will have the HVAC guy install a new IC board. Wish me luck.
Thanks again.
Pauly
Pauly is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quality of Payne furnace ??? Home Pro HVAC 45 03-30-2010 10:10 PM
Goodman 80% furnace brand new won't start Hguy HVAC 21 03-29-2008 12:05 AM
Please Help Me To Start My Business starobin Construction 9 06-14-2007 03:49 PM
Questions About a No Good Chimney Bruce Masonry 11 01-02-2007 12:46 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?