Furnace Problem - HVAC - Contractor Talk

Furnace Problem

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2004, 09:21 PM   #1
Registered User
 
dnsdean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Furnace Problem


Have a 1998 Consolidated Industries 60 k btu split system gas pack horizontal in attic. The problem I have is that the furnace is cycling. On for a few seconds then off for about a minute or so. Replace the igniter, thinking it wasn't getting the flame detector hot enough (the igniter is a glow=type w/two devices on it-one I think is a flame detector the other-I don't know). I understand Consolidated went BK.
Any ideas??
Thanks
ded
dnsdean is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 01-20-2004, 05:40 AM   #2
Pro
 
Bjd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 438
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Furnace Problem


Run a test on the safety system, high limit, spill switch, rollout, and pressure switch.
One or more of these could result in this type of problem.

bjd

Advertisement

Bjd is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 07:39 AM   #3
Member
 
Steve Wiggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Furnace Problem


You would benefit from having an annual maintanence contract on that furnace. This way you can get to know a person to take care of your machine and have someone you can trust to call when problems like this come up. That being a recalled furnace an experienced technician might even recommend replacement or be able to spot another danger that you missed.
Steve Wiggins is offline  
   
 
Old 01-21-2004, 09:32 AM   #4
Registered User
 
dnsdean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Furnace Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bjd
Run a test on the safety system, high limit, spill switch, rollout, and pressure switch.
One or more of these could result in this type of problem.

bjd
Hi bjd,
Thanks for the response. It seems the pressure switch has given me problems before. I remember on a 5 ton package commercial unit the code on the board pointed in that direction, however the switch itself was OK, but the plenum area where the hose goes from switch was exceesively dirty.
On this unit the flame sensor is itegral to the igniter, Rollout switches I think would not have been activated as the burner continues to be fed gas sup to a certain point. High limit switch mounted on plenum is a possibility
It's doing this cycling thing-which is a little confusing to me. We only been doing A/C work for a little over ayear-we are electrical contractors w/ a new HVAC license.
Where can you firnd a sequence of op for this obsolute unit?
I will go there today and do some more troubleshooting w/a couple of your suggesstions.
Thanks
ded
dnsdean is offline  
Old 01-21-2004, 09:37 AM   #5
Registered User
 
dnsdean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Furnace Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Wiggins
You would benefit from having an annual maintanence contract on that furnace. This way you can get to know a person to take care of your machine and have someone you can trust to call when problems like this come up. That being a recalled furnace an experienced technician might even recommend replacement or be able to spot another danger that you missed.
Thanks for your reply.
We are electricians, recently got our HVAC license-so we're still learning. Any other ideas besides give up this job? Perhaps a facts sheet to get schematic? I work well from them. Again thanks for your input!
ded
dnsdean is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 05:48 AM   #6
Pro
 
Bjd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 438
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Furnace Problem


How does the gas flame look before and after the blower starts up, do they change at all ?
Is the coil for the AC side clean and has the filter been replaced?

BJD

Advertisement

Bjd is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quality of Payne furnace ??? Home Pro HVAC 45 03-30-2010 09:10 PM
Goodman 80% furnace brand new won't start Hguy HVAC 21 03-28-2008 11:05 PM
Well problem paintr56 Plumbing 10 02-09-2007 09:20 AM
carrier gas furnace problem mjm0073 HVAC 4 01-30-2007 11:34 AM
Comfortmaker Furnace ignition problem J1CS HVAC 2 10-17-2005 01:39 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?