Furnace Blower Does Not Start

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2004, 12:55 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Furnace Blower Does Not Start


I need some diagnostic help with my Luxaire Furnace.
My problem:
The furnace blower will not come on after the burners have completed there cycle. I tested the fan limit switch and all other limits and they all check out ok.
There is a red LED light inside the furnace that flashes one time. According to the chart in the furnace, it says “Lockout Check Furnace”.

Someone suggested that I turn the switch power going to furnace on and off quickly and the lockout will reset it self. It did not work. What else can I do? Help! Freezing in Michigan.

Paul
Paul is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 01-17-2004, 12:59 PM   #2
Member
 
Steve Wiggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Furnace Blower Does Not Start


If your stat has a "fan-on" position switch to that so you won't freeze till a technician can get there to diagnose the problem. If you have a fairly new Luxaire furnace you might as well get braced for a new circuit board. They have been dropping like flies in my area.

Advertisement

Steve Wiggins is offline  
Old 01-18-2004, 10:47 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Furnace Blower Does Not Start


Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Wiggins
If your stat has a "fan-on" position switch to that so you won't freeze till a technician can get there to diagnose the problem. If you have a fairly new Luxaire furnace you might as well get braced for a new circuit board. They have been dropping like flies in my area.
Dear Steve:
My stat does have a fan on position - it will not start the blower motor. I disconnected the leads to the fan and wired them to a cord and run the fan that way. There is one thing that I did not mention - When I was replacing my furnace filter, half of it was gone. Could it have pluged up my air flow? There is no bind in the motor and the blower wheel turn easily.
Thanks for help
Paul
Paul is offline  
Old 01-19-2004, 06:19 AM   #4
Pro
 
Bjd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 438
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Furnace Blower Does Not Start


Did this problem start after the filter replacement? If so check to see if you may have upset the groung for the control board. These boards require that they be grounded to the chasis of the unit, be sure to check this from the 12 pin connection the wire would be green, make sure that it has a good ground.

bjd
Bjd is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 12:05 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Wink

Re: Furnace Blower Does Not Start


Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul
Dear Steve:
My stat does have a fan on position - it will not start the blower motor. I disconnected the leads to the fan and wired them to a cord and run the fan that way. There is one thing that I did not mention - When I was replacing my furnace filter, half of it was gone. Could it have pluged up my air flow? There is no bind in the motor and the blower wheel turn easily.
Thanks for help
Paul
The problem was the board! Thanks for your help
Paul
Paul is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 12:08 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Wink

Re: Furnace Blower Does Not Start


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bjd
Did this problem start after the filter replacement? If so check to see if you may have upset the groung for the control board. These boards require that they be grounded to the chasis of the unit, be sure to check this from the 12 pin connection the wire would be green, make sure that it has a good ground.

bjd
Thanks Bjd - The trouble was the board. Thanks for your help.
Paul
Paul is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 03:15 PM   #7
Guest
Guest
 
Unregistered's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Re: Furnace Blower Does Not Start


If you didn't find the other half of that filter, your other problem will be a blower motor. I recommend pulling the blower and making sure the vames on the wheel are un obstructed

Advertisement

 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quality of Payne furnace ??? Home Pro HVAC 45 03-30-2010 10:10 PM
Goodman 80% furnace brand new won't start Hguy HVAC 21 03-29-2008 12:05 AM
Goodman GMT045-3 Blower problem GaryStevens HVAC 2 02-23-2007 12:17 AM
Gas Furnace overheats - fan does start Pauly HVAC 2 11-28-2005 12:49 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?