Disable Goodman Heat Pump Compressor

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2011, 06:47 AM   #1
Czars
 
czars's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contracting
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Melbourne, FL
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10

Disable Goodman Heat Pump Compressor


I want to disable a Goodman Heat Pump compressor when the outside temperature goes below 35 degrees F (heat strips are on) by interrupting the thermostat signal commanding to the outside unit to run. Can I just interrupt the 24 VAC to the outside unit?
czars is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 10-26-2011, 08:44 AM   #2
Pro
 
flashheatingand's Avatar
 
Trade: H.v.a.c.
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boise, Id
Posts: 3,494
Rewards Points: 2,664

Re: Disable Goodman Heat Pump Compressor


You can, with an outdoor t-stat wired in series to the low voltage circuit. Otherwise, you can manually switch it at your indoor t-stat, by manually switching to emergency heat.

Advertisement

__________________
http://www.37flash.com/
flashheatingand is offline  
Old 10-26-2011, 09:27 AM   #3
Czars
 
czars's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contracting
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Melbourne, FL
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Disable Goodman Heat Pump Compressor


Is it acceptable to use the external T-Stat to interrupt the 24VAC going to the outside unit?
czars is offline  
Old 10-26-2011, 11:23 AM   #4
Carbon Dioxide Producer
 
DuMass's Avatar
 
Trade: EC
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 782
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Disable Goodman Heat Pump Compressor


That is something that can be done easily with a better quality thermostat, like the HW VisionPro along with their optional OD temp sensor. You can program it for compressor lockout below a certain OD temp and run only the aux heat strips. You can also program it to lockout the aux heat strips when the outdoor temp rises above a certain point.
When the OD temp is in between these two set points, the system operates normally with compressor and aux heat strips as needed.
DuMass is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 06:38 AM   #5
Pro
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,045
Rewards Points: 1,330

Re: Disable Goodman Heat Pump Compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by czars View Post
I want to disable a Goodman Heat Pump compressor when the outside temperature goes below 35 degrees F (heat strips are on) by interrupting the thermostat signal commanding to the outside unit to run. Can I just interrupt the 24 VAC to the outside unit?
Just interrupt the Y terminal.

Don't know why you would want to shut off the heat pump at 35 though, its still cheaper then just using the strip heaters at that temp.
beenthere is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 08:06 PM   #6
Pro
 
Doc Holliday's Avatar
 
Trade: hvac
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 547
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Disable Goodman Heat Pump Compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Just interrupt the Y terminal.

Don't know why you would want to shut off the heat pump at 35 though, its still cheaper then just using the strip heaters at that temp.
I was thinking the same thing. Completely defies the purpose of having a heat pump.
Doc Holliday is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 11:45 AM   #7
Member
 
user84377's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Disable Goodman Heat Pump Compressor


Quote:
I want to disable a Goodman Heat Pump compressor when the outside temperature goes below 35 degrees F (heat strips are on) by interrupting the thermostat signal commanding to the outside unit to run. Can I just interrupt the 24 VAC to the outside unit?
You should never lock out your heat pump compressor until you are well under the system balance point. This is the point at which you are picking up as much heat from outdoors as the home is giving up to the outdoors. You would still want to run the compressor until you are well beneath that balance point as the system is still picking up heat, the heating strips (aux) is merely supplemental unless the system has been sized for the heater to be the sole provider of heat. If you are thinking of saving money this way..it is possible providing your KW per hour is pretty cheap and the heaters are able of efficiently taking the load. If you are thinking of doing this b/c you are annoyed by the "cold" heat at lower temperatures...well, can't blame you for not liking that. We do not even suggest TRADITIONAL heat pumps in cold climates. TRADITIONAL heat pumps are great for moderate climates.

If you are using an older mechanical stat or even a digital stat that is not properly set up..........you can remedy the "cold" heat syndrome many comlain about at lower ambient temperatures by installing a GOOD digital stat that can sense outdoor temperature and when set up properly they will along for longer system run at colder outdoor temps plus you can set the point at which your electric heaters come on. Many times with the mechanical stat, cheaper digital stats, or improperly set up stat you can experience what is calling floating...where your heat pump simply runs and runs (typically would occur around balance point) without ever getting to the "trigger" point to bring heat strips on and without being able to satisfy the setpoint. So it runs, runs, and runs some more. There is a good article at http://hvacmarket.com/cgi/wp regarding thermostats....sorry I do not have the direct article link...it is in there somewhere.


Using the correct Honeywell visionpro stat, you can use an outdoor sensor at the unit and setting the stat up for the application you can do just that.

Advertisement


Last edited by user84377; 01-07-2012 at 11:52 AM.
user84377 is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat Pump Mike- HVAC 16 10-24-2011 12:21 PM
Goodman Heat Pump C comfort HVAC 9 01-08-2011 06:36 PM
Heat pump SEER readydave8 HVAC 4 06-13-2010 06:14 AM
Friedrich 2 ton Heat pump fan speed alansanders HVAC 0 11-18-2009 09:38 PM
Heat Pump vs Central A/C mugiber HVAC 8 11-03-2008 11:13 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?