Converting Furnace From NG To LP

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-03-2007, 02:33 AM   #1
Member
 
Bazooka Joe's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25

Converting Furnace From NG To LP


Hi folks,
I just purchased a new Goodman furnace that is set up for NG and I need to convert it to propane. The supplier i bought the furnace from has the kit for sale. I was wondering if this is a tough thing to install. If not, does anyone around here have any experience doing it, and what does it entail?

....thanks alot, Mike
Bazooka Joe is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   
 

Old 08-03-2007, 06:27 PM   #2
Pro
 
BigMikeB's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 221
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Converting Furnace From NG To LP


You have to change the gas valve, add a regulator and change out the orifices, it really isn't hard with the oem kit.

BigMikeB is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 10:03 AM   #3
Registered User
 
jvegas's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC CONTRACTOR
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Converting Furnace From NG To LP


you would need to change the orifices and the spring in the gas valve the kit does have instructions
jvegas is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 10:05 AM   #4
DGR,IABD
 
mdshunk's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central PA
Posts: 9,682
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Converting Furnace From NG To LP


Not hard at all. Just a few simple parts, and the kits all come with pretty clear instructions for CYA purposes on the part of the manufacturer. Go for it. The worst possible secnario is that you might need to have a guy stop in that has a manometer to set the regulator, but they're usually dead nuts from the factory.
mdshunk is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 11:51 AM   #5
Member
 
Bazooka Joe's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Converting Furnace From NG To LP


thanks very much!! .....i just ordered the kit.
Bazooka Joe is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quality of Payne furnace ??? Home Pro HVAC 45 03-30-2010 09:10 PM
Goodman 80% furnace brand new won't start Hguy HVAC 21 03-28-2008 11:05 PM
Best Furnace?? Stephen HVAC 9 08-18-2007 06:24 PM
Maybe it's a good time to upgrade furnace ron schenker HVAC 4 03-02-2007 11:11 AM
Furnace Cycling reddog HVAC 9 11-04-2005 08:31 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?