Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-04-2011, 09:48 AM   #1
Registered User
 
neversatisfied's Avatar
 
Trade: Telecommunications
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10

Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


What info can you guys shed on this topic ? What hoops do I have to jump thru to get licensing ? I live in Maryland.
neversatisfied is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   
 

Old 05-04-2011, 09:52 AM   #2
I no spell good
 
angus242's Avatar
 
Trade: No Longer Zoned
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 20,163
Rewards Points: 226

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


Why not get the info from the horse's mouth?

http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/mhic/

__________________
Angus
angus242 is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 10:14 AM   #3
Registered User
 
neversatisfied's Avatar
 
Trade: Telecommunications
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


I have an MHIC license already for a home improvement co I own. I did not realize I needed one for telecom work also.
neversatisfied is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 10:23 AM   #4
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 13,688
Rewards Points: 6,398

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


Just sit back and watch the money roll in.
Inner10 is online now  
Old 05-04-2011, 10:26 AM   #5
Registered User
 
neversatisfied's Avatar
 
Trade: Telecommunications
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


I see this forum has jokerz
neversatisfied is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 07:23 PM   #6
Capra aegagrus
 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 16,392
Rewards Points: 3,634

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


Quote:
Originally Posted by neversatisfied View Post
I see this forum has jokerz
That joker was actually being kind to you; he's a well established member here. He could have instead questioned your background, qualification and credentials for starting a telecommunications company when someone with experience in the field would generally have at least an inkling of what's involved.

As the new guy in town, the onus is on you to demonstrate that you are actually a fellow professional contractor, rather than an amateur wannabe.
Tinstaafl is online now  
Old 05-04-2011, 11:30 PM   #7
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 13,688
Rewards Points: 6,398

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


Quote:
I see this forum has jokerz


Just a few...

I just found it silly that someone wants to start a telecom company but isn't even familiar with license requirements. If you are serious about starting company I take it you have a lot of experience in this industry.

Did you just move to the area?
Inner10 is online now  
Old 05-07-2011, 07:14 PM   #8
Pro
 
hbiss's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


Don't you realize anybody can do telecom?

1) It's low voltage so you can do anything you want.

2) If you have a PC or an X Box you are qualified.

2) You can get everything you need on Ebay real cheap.

3) It's easy work that you can even do on the side.

4) You will make lots of money.



-Hal
hbiss is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 10:16 AM   #9
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 13,688
Rewards Points: 6,398

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


Hal, looks like I'm qualified but I need more help with #4!!!
Inner10 is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post:
Tinstaafl (05-08-2011)
Old 05-09-2011, 08:40 AM   #10
Registered User
 
neversatisfied's Avatar
 
Trade: Telecommunications
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Talking

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


Quote:
Originally Posted by hbiss View Post
Don't you realize anybody can do telecom?

1) It's low voltage so you can do anything you want.

2) If you have a PC or an X Box you are qualified.

2) You can get everything you need on Ebay real cheap.

3) It's easy work that you can even do on the side.

4) You will make lots of money.



-Hal
A caveman can do it !

I have been in the telecom industry for 16 years. Everyone else I work with (24) has no clue what is required to get started legally doing telecom work. Does that surprise you ?

I already own a home improvement co. and had no clue what licensing and insurances were needed when I started that co 8 years ago. I found out info thru professional forums such as this one.

I am glad that you are so intelligent that you knew all of the requirements right off the bat.
neversatisfied is offline  
Old 05-09-2011, 10:40 AM   #11
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: DEFENDER OF FREEDOM ADVOCATE OF LIBERTY!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 8,759
Rewards Points: 2,898

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


If a 12-year old child of diminished mental capacity can do line-voltage work, then I would say an amoeba can do weenie wire work.
__________________
Never believe everything you read on the internet --Thomas Jefferson
480sparky is offline  
Old 05-09-2011, 06:35 PM   #12
Capra aegagrus
 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 16,392
Rewards Points: 3,634

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


Quote:
Originally Posted by neversatisfied View Post
I have been in the telecom industry for 16 years. Everyone else I work with (24) has no clue what is required to get started legally doing telecom work. Does that surprise you ?
Uh... yes? You work for a telecom outfit, but nobody in that outfit has a clue as to what's needed to do such work?

Or maybe "in the industry" means something else. Telemarketing, maybe?

Sorry, I don''t mean to be confrontational, but it's entirely too hard to resist, given what you've said so far, and the fact that you are being confrontational with established members.

Can we start over?
Tinstaafl is online now  
Old 05-10-2011, 06:29 AM   #13
Registered User
 
neversatisfied's Avatar
 
Trade: Telecommunications
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


No help here I see
neversatisfied is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 11:36 AM   #14
Synacom
 
Synacom's Avatar
 
Trade: Information Transport Systems Installer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 77

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


Interesting how things vary between states. How many of you electricians have a state license? Here in NY the state doesn't issue your license, it goes by city. We do not need a low voltage license here for network, CCTV, access control, etc. but you do for alarm.
Synacom is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 07:14 PM   #15
The Ultimate Wire Hider
 
tedanderson's Avatar
 
Trade: A/V & Home Theater Installation
Join Date: May 2010
Location: PG County MD
Posts: 2,436
Rewards Points: 2,392

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


I don't know what part of Maryland you are in but in Prince Georges County, low voltage techs are licensed through the department of environmental services. It's $100 every 2 years.

They take licensing and permits for low voltage very seriously yet you can run a dozen or so 120V outlets on an existing building with no questions asked.

And the weird thing is that when you go to the County Administration Building, they have no idea as to what you are talking about (unless the right person is behind the counter) yet if the inspector catches up with you, he slaps you with a hefty fine.

And then when you go back to DER to pay the fine, the same lady who thought you were speaking a foreign language suddenly offers you an application.

But anyhow, I've done LV work in 8 other Maryland counties, Washington DC, and several jurisdictions in Northern VA and it was no big deal.
tedanderson is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 11:16 PM   #16
Pro
 
hbiss's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


Quote:
Originally Posted by neversatisfied View Post
I have been in the telecom industry for 16 years. Everyone else I work with (24) has no clue what is required to get started legally doing telecom work. Does that surprise you ?
No, that's been my experience also. Actually what I wrote above is a pretty accurate description of the way a typical LV installer thinks. If you work in the electrical trade you become aware pretty quickly that there are codes and other requirements just from working construction and associating with others on the job. The typical LV person is usually a geek with a computer background and is ignorant and sometimes even defiant that there are codes and other things that they must follow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neversatisfied View Post
I already own a home improvement co. and had no clue what licensing and insurances were needed when I started that co 8 years ago... I am glad that you are so intelligent that you knew all of the requirements right off the bat.


Not to be rude, but I think that's what separates the trunk slammers from the professionals.

-Hal

Last edited by hbiss; 05-10-2011 at 11:18 PM.
hbiss is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 06:53 PM   #17
Registered User
 
kobee4mvp's Avatar
 
Trade: Network Cabling Contractor
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


Quote:
Originally Posted by neversatisfied View Post
What info can you guys shed on this topic ? What hoops do I have to jump thru to get licensing ? I live in Maryland.
get yourself a decent cabling supplier - this will save you a lot of money and make sure that they are rohs and UL certified because you don't want to have problems with quality. I go with a company in California (magnusdeal.com) and never had a problem, great prices too.
kobee4mvp is offline  
Old 08-02-2011, 11:53 AM   #18
Registered User
 
jlascar's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Low Voltage Contractor
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NewYork
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


Correction a Alarm installer license is needed in NYS for CCTV work
jlascar is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 06:52 AM   #19
Synacom
 
Synacom's Avatar
 
Trade: Information Transport Systems Installer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 77

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlascar View Post
Correction a Alarm installer license is needed in NYS for CCTV work
I don't think that's the case for CCTV, do you have a reference? I need to stay out of jail.
Synacom is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 07:56 AM   #20
Registered User
 
jlascar's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Low Voltage Contractor
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NewYork
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Starting A Telecommunication Installation Company


This is from the state website, sorry but license needed. A lot of companies are running under the radar.

ß195.2 Need for license
(a) An individual, firm, company partnership or corporation must be licensed:
(1) if it installs, maintains or services alarm systems, including such items as the detectors, control devices and alarm communication sys-tems; or
(2) if it holds itself out to the public as being able to do so.
(b) A security and fire alarm installers license is required for the instal-lation, maintenance or servicing of the following:
(1) a closed circuit television system (CCTV) if such system is used, either full-time or part- time, for the detection or monitoring of intrusion, break-in, theft, movement, sound or fire; and
(2) electrical entry systems which detect and/or provide notification of intrusion, break-in, theft, movement, sound or fire regardless of the number of entry points.
(c) A license is not required

jlascar is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to jlascar For This Useful Post:
Synacom (08-09-2011)


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Writing a contract.. vos Business 14 03-24-2011 10:15 AM
When First Starting Your Company. BamBamm5144 General Discussion 5 01-25-2010 04:48 PM
Looking for a brick paver installation company Jamcojay Help Wanted or Looking For Work 0 10-14-2008 10:42 AM
Contract and terms. AFI Painting & Finish Work 28 09-29-2006 06:57 PM
starting a painting company melbourne aust. djshady Introductions 2 04-28-2006 10:31 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?