tags, as close as possible to the opening tag. Creation Date: 12/20/2017 -->

Residential Mesh Network

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2017, 03:49 PM   #21
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 23,954
Rewards Points: 13,040

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Quote:
Originally Posted by SectorSecurity View Post
Please everyone knows that when you don't know how to configure a firewall you simply turn it off and tell yourself you don't need it.

That's why they give you the option to turn it off isn't it?

Sent from my XP7700 using Tapatalk
In the case of the EdgeRouter they really don't have any by default.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is online now  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-13-2017, 05:13 PM   #22
Always Learning
 
overanalyze's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder/Remodeler
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 7,646
Rewards Points: 934

Re: Residential Mesh Network


So I had another client call me needing better Wi-Fi coverage. She had tried extenders and new Wi-Fi router and was done dealing with it. I knew how I could run a hardline to a pretty central location in her home. Ended up using a UAP-AC-Lite for her. Killed her Wi-Fi radios in her existing router and just used the UAP for now. If she still needs better, I told her we will go with a new router and 2nd UAP. Pretty painless setup so far.

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
__________________
It is what it is...now fix it.
overanalyze is online now  
Old 01-07-2018, 09:50 PM   #23
Always Learning
 
overanalyze's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder/Remodeler
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 7,646
Rewards Points: 934

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Went all in for my home. Have a USG, 8 port 60watt switch, cloud key, an in wall uap and a Uap ac lite coming for my house. My old Belkin has been on the fritz and I have a mix of stuff that just works ok. The other driving force is I am finally cutting the cable so I wanted a rock solid home network to stream. Pics of the new setup once it is up and running.
__________________
It is what it is...now fix it.
overanalyze is online now  
   
 
Old 01-08-2018, 07:22 AM   #24
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 23,954
Rewards Points: 13,040

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Quote:
Originally Posted by overanalyze View Post
Went all in for my home. Have a USG, 8 port 60watt switch, cloud key, an in wall uap and a Uap ac lite coming for my house. My old Belkin has been on the fritz and I have a mix of stuff that just works ok. The other driving force is I am finally cutting the cable so I wanted a rock solid home network to stream. Pics of the new setup once it is up and running.
The 2.4 Gig In-Wall? I Installed a couple dozen and their range is minuscule and performance is atrocious. I still have 6 or 7 in stock.
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is online now  
Old 01-09-2018, 06:42 PM   #25
Always Learning
 
overanalyze's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder/Remodeler
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 7,646
Rewards Points: 934

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Quote:
Originally Posted by Inner10 View Post
The 2.4 Gig In-Wall? I Installed a couple dozen and their range is minuscule and performance is atrocious. I still have 6 or 7 in stock.
New ones are 5 & 2.4 GHz. My bedroom has the worst signal on my current setup. Going to put the in-wall in there. AC-Lite in the living room.

Nerd p0rn...
__________________
It is what it is...now fix it.
overanalyze is online now  
Old 01-09-2018, 07:00 PM   #26
Pro
 
Stryker1-1's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Systems
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 667
Rewards Points: 1,346

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Would have been better off mounting a up ac to the wall in place of the in wall model.

Only time they are really useful is if you need the port.

Sent from my SM-G870W using Tapatalk
Stryker1-1 is offline  
Old 01-09-2018, 07:24 PM   #27
Always Learning
 
overanalyze's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder/Remodeler
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 7,646
Rewards Points: 934

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker1-1 View Post
Would have been better off mounting a up ac to the wall in place of the in wall model.

Only time they are really useful is if you need the port.

Sent from my SM-G870W using Tapatalk
Crap...well hopefully it works ok for me.
__________________
It is what it is...now fix it.
overanalyze is online now  
Old 01-09-2018, 10:48 PM   #28
Always Learning
 
overanalyze's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder/Remodeler
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 7,646
Rewards Points: 934

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Up and running on 1 UAP. The setup took way longer than it should have due to newb error and a problem with my modem not giving access to the USG. Once that was fixed everything went great. I am so happy with the software and UI. Lots and lots of stats!
__________________
It is what it is...now fix it.
overanalyze is online now  
Old 01-09-2018, 10:54 PM   #29
Pro
 
Xtrememtnbiker's Avatar
 
Trade: General Remodeling
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,689
Rewards Points: 866

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Quote:
Originally Posted by overanalyze View Post
Crap...well hopefully it works ok for me.
You can always count on these guys to be a boner killer. Right after you got all excited too.

Thanks to advice from here we installed a few of the UAP's? a few years back for a client. They worked extremely well.

I'm too cheap to do them at my own house but once I build my next one, it's gonna have kick ass wi-fi coverage in the house, shop, yard, wherever...
Xtrememtnbiker is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Xtrememtnbiker For This Useful Post:
overanalyze (01-10-2018)
Old 01-09-2018, 11:29 PM   #30
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 23,954
Rewards Points: 13,040

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Quote:
Originally Posted by overanalyze View Post
Up and running on 1 UAP. The setup took way longer than it should have due to newb error and a problem with my modem not giving access to the USG. Once that was fixed everything went great. I am so happy with the software and UI. Lots and lots of stats!
Didn't I warn you about that? If you are using a local controller on the same vlan they are a PITA to setup if you need anything but the default subnet...you basically have to use CLI or suffer a half hour of frustration.
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is online now  
Old 01-09-2018, 11:30 PM   #31
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 23,954
Rewards Points: 13,040

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker1-1 View Post
Would have been better off mounting a up ac to the wall in place of the in wall model.

Only time they are really useful is if you need the port.

Sent from my SM-G870W using Tapatalk
Meh, the AC inwall is decent...the 2.4 is murder.
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is online now  
Old 01-10-2018, 06:49 AM   #32
Always Learning
 
overanalyze's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder/Remodeler
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 7,646
Rewards Points: 934

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Quote:
Originally Posted by Inner10 View Post
Didn't I warn you about that? If you are using a local controller on the same vlan they are a PITA to setup if you need anything but the default subnet...you basically have to use CLI or suffer a half hour of frustration.
It was the modem. It wasn't giving the USG it's IP. Took a couple power cycles of the modem to finally get it to take. Again I think mostly rookie/inexperience mistakes. It's my modem. Didn't like the free crap the ISP provided. Bought it a year or so ago.

Initially very pleased. Speeds are more than they have ever been and exceed what I am supposed to get from my ISP.

Going to get the IW-AC fired up tonight and tidy things up.
__________________
It is what it is...now fix it.
overanalyze is online now  
Old 01-10-2018, 07:44 AM   #33
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 23,954
Rewards Points: 13,040

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Quote:
Originally Posted by overanalyze View Post
It was the modem. It wasn't giving the USG it's IP. Took a couple power cycles of the modem to finally get it to take. Again I think mostly rookie/inexperience mistakes. It's my modem. Didn't like the free crap the ISP provided. Bought it a year or so ago.

Initially very pleased. Speeds are more than they have ever been and exceed what I am supposed to get from my ISP.

Going to get the IW-AC fired up tonight and tidy things up.
That's par for the course with any dhcp connection from an ISP, almost always needs a reboot. PPPoE however doesn't seem to be as picky.
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post:
overanalyze (01-10-2018)
Old 01-10-2018, 03:35 PM   #34
Pro
 
Stryker1-1's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Systems
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 667
Rewards Points: 1,346

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Did you use the cloud key for the controller?

Sent from my SM-G870W using Tapatalk
Stryker1-1 is offline  
Old 01-10-2018, 06:32 PM   #35
Always Learning
 
overanalyze's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder/Remodeler
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 7,646
Rewards Points: 934

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker1-1 View Post
Did you use the cloud key for the controller?

Sent from my SM-G870W using Tapatalk
I did. I wasn't going to at first but decided to add it at the last minute. I wanted to cut my teeth on the setup at home. Plus I liked the remote login out of the box. Man there are a ton of stats with the software! Very happy so far. I even successfully activated LAN 2 on the USG and configured it for Ooma VoIP.
__________________
It is what it is...now fix it.
overanalyze is online now  
Old 01-11-2018, 12:07 AM   #36
Always Learning
 
overanalyze's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder/Remodeler
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 7,646
Rewards Points: 934

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Decided to mount everything to the exterior of my network panel cover. A little pre-planning and I think it looks good. Cable management is behind the cover.

Sent from my SM-T310 using Tapatalk
__________________
It is what it is...now fix it.
overanalyze is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to overanalyze For This Useful Post:
Xtrememtnbiker (01-11-2018)
Old 01-11-2018, 04:55 AM   #37
John the Builder
 
SmallTownGuy's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter/Builder
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 12,699
Rewards Points: 10,390

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Quote:
Originally Posted by overanalyze View Post
Decided to mount everything to the exterior of my network panel cover. A little pre-planning and I think it looks good. Cable management is behind the cover.

Sent from my SM-T310 using Tapatalk
I'm impressed.
__________________
"Mornin' ladies, my goodness don't you look happy. Must be cuttin' somebody up pretty good." - Andy Griffiths
SmallTownGuy is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to SmallTownGuy For This Useful Post:
overanalyze (01-11-2018)
Old 01-11-2018, 06:44 AM   #38
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 23,954
Rewards Points: 13,040

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Nicely done!
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post:
overanalyze (01-11-2018)
Old 01-11-2018, 09:36 AM   #39
Always Learning
 
overanalyze's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder/Remodeler
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 7,646
Rewards Points: 934

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Now that you have seen the good...here is what it looked like before.

All of this is also to finally cut cable. Once that is complete and I finalize cleaning up the interior of the panel I will share that photo.
__________________
It is what it is...now fix it.
overanalyze is online now  
Old 01-11-2018, 06:57 PM   #40
Pro
 
Stryker1-1's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Systems
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 667
Rewards Points: 1,346

Re: Residential Mesh Network


Don't worry I have seen worse by "professionals"

Sent from my SM-G870W using Tapatalk

Advertisement

Stryker1-1 is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More RRP Enforcement FStephenMasek Lead RRP Discussion 2 12-09-2014 09:30 AM
Anyone use the Corrigo network rtztgue Business 3 02-03-2014 12:42 AM
Computer Restarts When Connected To Network? AlphaCablingTek Low Voltage 6 12-08-2012 01:30 AM
flashing detail on residential 6stringmason Masonry 27 11-15-2012 11:08 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?